Artist News Awards Business News Labels & Publishers

AIM announce nominees for this year’s Independent Music Awards

By | Published on Wednesday 12 August 2015

AIM Awards 2015

So, if you woke up this morning with one very simple objective for your day – finding out who is nominated for an AIM Independent Music Award – well, blimey, look at this, you’re day is now complete. You have our permission to knock off early. Go for a walk in the park. Feed some ducks. Maybe take in an art house movie and eat a big pie. Or just have a mid-afternoon snooze with the telly on mute. Or simply apply a big fat tick to your to do list of life. By which, I mean, here are the nominations for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards. Maybe write them all up on a post-it note.

Independent Label Of The Year: Epitaph Records, Erased Tapes Records, Heavenly Recordings, Planet Mu Records, Transgressive Records.

Best Small Label: Basick Records, Erased Tapes Records , High Focus Records, Planet Mu Records, Rocket Girl.

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival: ArcTanGent, Barn On The Farm, Brainchild Festival, Pete The Monkey, Truck Festival.

Independent Track of the Year: Alt-J – Every Other Freckle, Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian At Best, FKA twigs – Two Weeks, Jamie XX – Loud Places, LA Priest – Oino, Major Lazer – Lean On, Mogwai – Teenage Exorcists, Neck Deep – Can’t Kick Up The Roots, Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love, Wiley – On A Level.

Independent Album Of The Year: Bjork – Vulnicura, Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep, Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear, Ghostpoet – Shedding Skin, Jme – Integrity>,
The Bug – Angels & Devils, The Charlatans – Modern Nature, The Xcerts – There Is Only You, Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool, Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too.

Best Difficult Second Album: Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color, Holly Herndon – Platform, Nadine Shah – Fast Food, The 2 Bears – The Night is Young, Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too.

Special Catalogue Release of the Year: Cities Of Darkscorch boardgame, Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Inside the Pleasuredome, Bjork coloured vinyl catalogue reissue, The Pretty Things – Bouquets From A Cloudy Sky, Imogen Heap – Sparks (Deluxe Boxset), Oasis -(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? reissue.

Independent Video Of The Year: Alt-J – Hunger Of The Pine; Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me; Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me; Ibeyi – River; Son Lux – Change Is Everything.

Best Live Act: All Time Low, Alt-J, Erasure, Thunder, To Kill a King, Twin Atlantic.

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Courtney Barnett, FKA Twigs, Run The Jewels, Songhoy Blues, Wolf Alice.

Most Played New Independent Act: FKA Twigs, Ghetts, Jungle,Ward Thomas.

Hardest Working Band/Artist: Courtney Barnett, Jme, Little Comets, Swans, Young Fathers.

Indie Champion: Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music; Marc Riley, BBC 6Music; Peter Guy, Getintothis; Rupert Morrison, The Drift Record Shop; Tim Burgess, songwriter and O Genesis Music Ltd.

Pioneer Award: Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award: Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune