Artist News Awards Business News

AIM Awards nominations announced

By | Published on Wednesday 8 August 2018


The nominations for this year’s AIM Awards were unveiled yesterday, the next edition of the Independent Music Awards taking place on 4 Sep in London. Are you now expecting me to format and organise all those nominations into neat lists for you to carelessly scan and not really digest? Oh, alright then.

Independent Album Of The Year: Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest, Jorja Smith – Lost & Found, Kamaal Williams – The Return, Kamasi Washington – Heaven And Earth, Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears, Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination, Phoebe Bridgers – Stranger In The Alps, Shame – Songs Of Praise, Sophie – Oil Of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides, Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar.

Independent Track Of The Year: Bicep – Glue, Christine And The Queens – Girlfriend, Dave – Question Time, Peggy Gou – It Makes You Forget (Itgehane), Charlotte Gainsbourg – Deadly Valentine, Ghostpoet – Immigrant Boogie, Let’s Eat Grandma – Falling Into Me, Phoebe Bridgers – Motion Sickness, Shame – One Rizla, Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete The Kisses.

Best Sophomore Release: Fever Ray – Plunge, Gwenno – Le Kov, King Krule – The Ooz, Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears, Nines – Crop Circle.

Best Creative Packaging: Black Sabbath – The Ten Year War, Fela Kuti – Box Set #4 Curated By Erykah Badu, Hüskur Dü – Savage Young Dü, Oneohtrix Point Never – Age Of, Wishbone Ash – The Vintage Years 1970-1991.

UK Breakthrough Of The Year: Aj Tracey, Goat Girl, Idles, Jorja Smith, Sophie.

Independent Video Of The Year: Idles – Colossus, Leon Vynehall – Movements (Chapter III), Moses Sumney – Doomed, Novo Amor – Birthplace, Superorganism – Everybody Want To Be Famous.

Independent Label Of The Year: Brownswood Recordings, Ninja Tune, Transgressive, Dirty Hit, Dead Oceans.

Best Small Label: Black Acre Records, Rocket Recordings, Rock Action Records, On The Corner Records, Houndstooth.

Hardest Working Group Or Artist: Dawn (Dawn Richard), Idles, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Mogwai, Tom Misch.

Most Played New Independent Act: Camelphat & Elderbook, Dave, Hardy Caprio, Jorja Smith, Yxng Bane.

International Breakthrough Of The Year: Cigarettes After Sex, Confidence Man, Moses Sumney, Phoebe Bridgers, Zeal & Ardor.

Best Live Act: Cassia, DMA’s, Erasure, Idles, Steps.

Indie Champion Award: Femi Adeyemi – Founder Of NTS Radio