Awards Business News

AIM Awards nominations out

By | Published on Wednesday 7 August 2013

AIM Awards

What’s that you say? You’re desperately wondering who the devil might have been nominated in this year’s Independent Music Awards from the Association of Independent Music? Well fear not you crazy wonderer, here are the nom lists in their very fullness. Expect winners next month via a London awards bash on 3 Sep.

Best Live Act: Bellowhead (Navigator), Bonobo (Ninja Tune), Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings), Johnny Marr (New Voodoo), The National (4AD).

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: The 1975 (Dirty Hit), Daughter (4AD), Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC), Palma Violets (Rough Trade), Passenger (Nettwerk), Public Service Broadcasting (Test Card Recordings).

Hardest Working Band or Artist: Alt-J (Infectious), The Computers (One Little Indian), Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/[PIAS] Recordings), Frankie & the Heartstrings (Wichita), Sam Lee (Nest Collective).

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album: Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings), John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union), Major Lazer – Free The Universe (Because Music), Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino), The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings).

Best Small Label: Alcopop! Records, Gringo Records, Hyperdub, Rocket Girl, Too Pure Singles Club.

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Bonobo – The North Borders (Ninja Tune), Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador), The Horrors – Higher (XL Recordings), Various Artists – Kenya Special (Soundway Records), Various Artists – Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red).

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival: Hebridean Celtic Festival, In The Woods, LeeFest, Truck Festival, Y Not Festival.

Independent Video Of The Year: Childhood – Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists), David Byrne & St Vincent – Who (4AD), Django Django – WOR (Because Music), Grimes – Genesis (4AD), Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop (Macklemore LLC), The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies (Distiller Records).

Indie Champion Award: Gilles Peterson, BBC 6music; Joe Sparrow, A New Band A Day; John Kennedy, Xfm; Lauren Laverne, BBC 6music; Lawrence Montgomery, Rise Music.

Independent Track Of The Year: Daughter – Youth (4AD), Jagwar Ma – The Throw (Marathon Artists), Palma Violets – Best of Friends (Rough Trade), Passenger – Let Her Go (Nettwerk), TNGHT – Higher Ground (Warp Records), Vampire Weekend – Diane Young (XL Recordings).

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act: The 2 Bears (Southern Fried), Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade), Alt-J (Infectious), Django Django (Because Music), Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore LLC).

Independent Album Of The Year: Daughter – If You Leave (4AD), David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant (4AD), Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light ([PIAS] Recordings), Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Marathon Artists), John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union), Jon Hopkins – Immunity (Domino), Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed), Public Service Broadcasting – Inform – Educate – Entertain (Test Card Recordings), Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (XL Recordings), The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings).

Independent Label Of The Year: Bella Union, Cooking Vinyl, Matador, [PIAS] Recordings,
Warp Records.

Pioneer Award: Geoff Travis (Rough Trade)

Outstanding Contribution To Music: Billy Bragg (Cooking Vinyl)