BASCA announces Gold Badge winners

By | Published on Tuesday 13 September 2011


The British Academy Of Songwriters, Composers And Authors has announced that it will present another batch of its Gold Badge Awards on 19 Oct at the Savoy in London. The awards “celebrate the careers of people who have made a special contribution to Britain’s music and entertainment industry, both those in the limelight and those who work behind the scenes often without public recognition”.

The year’s recipients are:

Joan Armatrading
Tony Burrows
Christina Coker
Ray Davies
Christopher Gunning
Mick Hucknall
John Leckie
Arlene Phillips
Mike Read
Mike Ross-Trevor
Clare Teal
Dennis Waterman

BASCA Chairman Sarah Rodgers told CMU: “The outstanding group of men and women whom we recognise for the 38th year of Gold Badge have all in their very individual ways given something special and memorable to the community which BASCA represents. As songwriters and composers, we rely on a network of other professionals for our music to be promoted, performed, recorded, broadcast and integrated into the work of others in ways too many to enumerate. These talented people bring our music to life and in so doing, entertain an entire nation, not to say the wider world!”