Artist News Awards

BBC unveils UK Eurovision hopefuls

By | Published on Tuesday 24 January 2017

Eurovision Song Contest

I think the chance of anyone in the rest Europe actually voting for the UK entry in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest is pretty slim – something about us telling them all to “fuck off” – but we’re forging ahead nonetheless. Perhaps the Supreme Court could intervene and insist that the British Parliament gets a say on who wins.

Either way, yesterday morning, six contenders for being thrown to the lions were unveiled by the BBC, by which we mean the artists/songs that could as yet be the British entry at this year’s Contest. The final decision on which song will be sent to represent the UK will be chosen, for the second year running, on BBC show ‘Eurovision: You Decide’.

You’d think even the BBC would have learned the lesson by now about the risks of asking the British public for any opinion relating to Europe, but apparently not. So, the great people of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales will be left to select one of the following songs, all of which could be twisted to sound like some sort of comment on Brexit:

• Danyl Johnson – Light Up The World
• Holly Brewer – I Wish I Loved You More
• Lucie Jones – Never Give Up On You
• Nate Simpson – What Are We Made Of?
• Olivia Garcia – Freedom Hearts
• Salena Mastroianni – I Don’t Wanna Fight

‘Eurovision: You Decide’ will be broadcast on BBC Two at 7.30pm this Friday, live from the Hammersmith Apollo. Listen to all six entries here.

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will take place at in Kiev, Ukraine on 13 May.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | |