Awards Business News

Björk and Laurence Bell to receive AIM Awards

By | Published on Wednesday 24 August 2011


AIM has announced two winners for the inaugural Independent Music Awards, which are due to take place later this year. Björk will take home the Outstanding Contribution trophy, while Domino Records founder Laurence Bell will receive the Pioneer Award.

Björk has, of course, built up a hugely successful career, and has remained signed to independent label One Little Indian throughout. She joined the company as a member of The Sugarcubes in 1987. Meanwhile, Bell launched the Domino label by taking advantage of a £40 a week enterprise allowance scheme in 1993, and has gone on to launch the careers of bands such as Franz Ferdinand and the Arctic Monkeys.

They will collect their awards at a ceremony hosted by Steve Lamacq and Huw Stephens at Floridita in Soho on 10 Nov. As well as that, several independent artists will perform live, and another twelve awards will be handed out to independent musicians, labels, entrepreneurs, and festivals.

More information here.