Artist News Awards

Border Breakers winners for 2014 revealed

By | Published on Wednesday 16 October 2013

European Border Breakers Awards

The winners of the 2014 European Border Breakers Awards have been announced, once again celebrating new artists who have enjoyed cross-border success in Europe. Each winner will be presented with a gong at an event during next year’s Eurosonic festival, where one will also be presented with a Public Choice Award, based on online voting during November and December.

And the winners are…

GuGabriel (Austria)
Lukas Graham (Denmark)
Woodkid (France)
Zedd (Germany)
Asgeir (Iceland)
Kodaline (Ireland)
Jacco Gardner (Netherlands)
Envy (Norway)
Icona Pop (Sweden)
Disclosure (UK)

Revealing the list of winners for the latest edition of the EC Culture Programme-funded Border Breaker initiative, Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner For Education, Culture, Multilingualism And Youth, told CMU: “Without music, life would be a mistake, said Friedrich Nietzsche some time ago”.

He went on: “Musical tastes might have changed a bit since his day, but music is still a universal language that touches everyone, regardless of age or background. The internet has made it easier than ever to access music, yet, paradoxically, it is much harder for artists to break through and achieve lasting success. The European Commission supports the EBBA Awards because we want to help the most promising acts to reach audiences beyond their home base and to break into new international markets”.