Choice shortlist out

By | Published on Thursday 13 January 2011

Choice Music Prize

The shortlist is out for this year’s Choice Music Prize which, as I’m sure I don’t have to tell you people, is sort of the Irish version of the Mercury Music Prize. Ten contenders for the ‘album of the year’ prize have been selected by a panel of eleven music media types in Ireland. The overall winner, who gets ten thousand euros, will be announced on 3 Mar at an event in Dublin, with live coverage due to air on Irish radio station Today FM. And here is the shortlist.

Adebesi Shank – This Is The Second Album Of A Band Called Adebisi Shank (Richter Collective)
The Cast of Cheers – Chariot (Self Released)
Cathy Davey – The Nameless (Hammer Toe Records)
Fight Like Apes – The Body Of Christ & The Legs Of Tina Turner (Model Citizen)
Halves – It Goes, It Goes (Forever & Ever) (Hate Is The Enemy)
Imelda May – Mayhem (Universal)
James Vincent McMorrow – Early in The Morning (Universal)
O Emperor – Hither Thither (Universal)
Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)
Villagers – Becoming a Jackal (Domino)