Artist News Awards Media

Clannad and Martin Carthy to receive Lifetime Achievement prizes at Radio 2 Folk Awards

By | Published on Wednesday 29 January 2014

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

BBC Radio 2 has announced that Clannad and Martin Carthy will receive Lifetime Acheivement trophies at the radio station’s annual Folk Awards next month. The event, which will take place at the Royal Albert Hall on 19 Feb, will also mark its fifteenth anniversary.

Clannad, who will also perform at the ceremony, said in unison: “We are absolutely honoured to be recognised in this way by the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. The BBC have been such great supporters of us since we first broke through in the UK with ‘Theme From Harry’s Game’. We are really looking forward to being part of the big night at the Royal Albert Hall.”

Of his prize, Carthy said: “I’ve just been lucky enough to follow my heart and pretty much do what I want over the past 50 years or so. If, along the way, I’ve been able to play a part, however small, in keeping the traditional music of these islands alive, then I consider myself a fortunate man”.

BBC Radio 2 Controller Bob Shennan added: “The Radio 2 Folk Awards exist to celebrate the very best in folk music. Clannad and Martin Carthy have made magnificent contributions to folk music over the years and are thoroughly deserving of these prestigious accolades. Many congratulations to them”.

The full list of nominees for the Folk Awards is as follows:

Folk Singer Of The Year: Bella Hardy, Fay Hield, Lisa Knapp, Lucy Ward

Best Duo: Ross Ainslie & Jarlath Henderson, Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita, Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin

Best Group: Breabach, The Full English, Lau, Melrose Quartet

Musician Of The Year: Aidan O’Rourke, Will Pound, Martin Simpson, Sam Sweeney

Best Album: Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer – Child Ballads, The Full English – The Full English, Lisa Knapp – Hidden Seam, Martin Simpson – Vagrant Stanzas, Linda Thompson – Won’t Be Long Now

Best Original Song: Linda Thompson – Love’s For Babies And Fools, Chris Wood – None The Wiser, Olivia Chaney – Swimming In The Longest River, Lisa Knapp – Two Ravens

Best Traditional Track: Georgia Ruth – Codi Angor, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita – Les Bras de Mer, Rant – Mary Macdonald’s, Anaïs Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer – Willie Of Winsbury

Horizon Award: Olivia Chaney, Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker, Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar, Georgia Ruth

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award: Hattie Briggs, Gentlemen Of Few, Granny’s Attic, The Mischa Macpherson Trio