Artist News Awards

European Border Breakers and Festival awards handed out at Eurosonic

By | Published on Thursday 15 January 2015

Eurosonic Noorderslag

This year’s Eurosonic Noorderslag conference got underway last night with not one but two awards ceremonies, the European Border Breakers Awards and the European Festival Awards. As is now the established tradition.

The EBBAs give recognition to new European acts who have achieved cross-border chart success. The ten winners were announced in October, with three – Melanie De Biasio, MØ and Indila – performing live last night (as did previous winners, The Ting Tings).

Not in attendance, but there in spirit/via video message, were Klangkarussell, Milky Chance, Hozier, The Common Linnets, Todd Terje, Tove Lo and, representing the UK, John Newman.

Last year’s Dutch Eurovision entrants The Common Linnets were also handed the Public Choice Award, having been voted the favourite of the ten winners in an online vote. They said: “We crossed musical borders making the music, and now to be recognised for crossing international borders is very satisfying. The EBBA means that the record has its own legs now, and the group has its own legs now, instead of thriving on that second place at Eurovision. It has its own life”.

The ceremony also saw Jungle awarded the EBBA Best Festival Act prize. Announced in December last year, this was the first time this new award has been given. It is particularly notable for ruining my segue into the European Festival Awards by not quite tallying with any of the artist awards in that ceremony. It’s like they don’t want me to invent tension between the two events. Bastards.

Anyway, The European Festival Awards were handed out. A sister event to the UK Festival Awards, it recognises the best festivals and artists who play them across Europe. There were also performances from some artists, though none of them actually won anything. Still, MØ made the most of the evening by performing at this ceremony, as well as the EBBAs.

Melvin Benn was given the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Arctic Monkeys took the two artist awards for Best Headliner and Anthem Of The Year. Glastonbury completed the UK winners by taking the Best Line-Up prize.

Organiser Steve Jenner said of the event: “It’s inspiring to have a winners’ list that is so reflective of the cultural diversity and strength of passion, dedication, creativity and quality of delivery that underpins Europe’s incredible festival scene today. Despite the competition in an increasingly crowded market, and under some tough conditions in recent years, tonight saw Europe’s festival organisers gathering to celebrate as one industry. I think that’s a very special thing that can only strengthen the market and we are honoured to be the hosts of this event. Our thanks go out to all who took part in this year’s awards”.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Small Festival Festival: Tauron Nowa Muzyka (Poland)
Best Medium-Sized Festival: Dance Festival (Montenegro)
Best Major Festival: Sziget Festival (Hungary)
Best Indoor Festival: I Love Techno (Belgium)
Best New Festival: Down The Rabbit Hole (The Netherlands)
Artists’ Favourite Festival: Primavera Sound (Spain)
Best Line-Up: Glastonbury Festival (United Kingdom)

The Health & Safety Innovation Award: MOJO/LOC Festivals (The Netherlands)
Green Operations Award: Roskilde Festival and Stop Wasting Food (Denmark)
Promoter Of The Year: Live Nation

Best Headliner: Arctic Monkeys (United Kingdom)
Best Newcomer Act: Stromae (Belgium)
Anthem Of The Year: Arctic Monkeys – R U Mine

The Lifetime Achievement Award: Melvin Benn (United Kingdom)
The Award for Excellence And Passion: Rikke Øxner (Denmark)