Artist News Releases

Future Of The Left’s Julia Ruzicka announces solo album, release Black Francis collaboration

By | Published on Monday 26 September 2016

Julia Ruzicka

Future Of The Left bassist Julia Ruzicka has announced her debut solo album, ‘This Becomes Us’, under the name Ruzicka. Although, for a solo album, she kept a lot of company.

Each track was written on bass by Ruzicka, and recorded with guitarist Ian Wilson and drummer Jack Eggleston. Nine different singers then added vocals to the resulting instrumentals, including Kristian Bell from The Wytches, Matchbox B-Line Disaster’s Guy McKnight, and Pixies frontman Black Francis, who appears on first single ‘Painter Man Is Coming’.

“I have loved and still love the role I play in my bands creatively, on bass”, says Ruzicka. “But as time passed throughout various writing periods for all kinds of records, I started to stockpile ideas on bass, and just wanted to see some of the embryonic ideas written on bass turn into fully realised songs”.

Of bagging a Frank Black collaboration, she adds: “It was an incredible outcome. I wrote the song with him in mind, being someone who has been listening to his music for a long time. To actually have the person singing on your song that inspired that piece of music is quite an incredible event and feeling”.

Listen to ‘Painter Man Is Coming’ here:

‘This Becomes Us’ is due for release on 11 Nov. Here’s the full tracklist:

The Picture of Delorean Gray (feat. Damien Sayell of The St Pierre Snake Invasion)
Undervalue Love (feat Guy McKnight ex-The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster)
Big Hitter (feat Billy Mason Wood of Blacklisters)
Painter Man Is Coming (feat Black Francis of Pixies)
At The End of Everyday (feat Kristian Bell of The Wytches)
Simple Too (feat Rosie Arnold)
A Gift That Nobody Wants (feat Michael J Sheehy of Miraculous Mule)
Songs In My Mind (feat Chantal Lewis Brown of Vodun)
Sassessa (feat Vinod Bhairo)
This Horse Needs Peace (Instrumental)