Artist News Releases

Hackney Colliery Band release two tracks from collaborations album

By | Published on Monday 3 June 2019

Hackney Colliery Band

With their new album of collaborations out this week, the Hackney Colliery Band has nudged out two tracks from it early. ‘Crushing Lactic’ was composed by Three Trapped Tigers’ Tom Rogerson and ‘Derashe’ features Mulatu Astatke.

‘Collaborations: Volume One’ marks the group’s tenth anniversary and features contributions from a range of musicians, including James Taylor, comedian Rob Auton, Acoustic Ladyland’s Pete Wareham, pianist Bugge Wesseltoft, trombonist Dennis ‘Funkybone’ Rollins and the Roundhouse Choir.

“It’s hard to believe that 2019 is our tenth anniversary, but now we’re ten years older it felt like the right time to get back to our jazz roots”, says band leader Steve Pretty. “It’s been such a privilege to work with so many of our musical inspirations both old and new on this record, and we’re super excited to be ushering in the next ten years with this new collaborative spirit: this is called ‘Volume One’ for a reason”.

The band have a number of UK headline shows coming up this month, as well as supporting Kylie Minogue at Blenheim Palace. Right now, listen to ‘Crushing Lactic’ and ‘Derashe’.