Artist News Releases

Herbert to release new album, Musca

By | Published on Tuesday 11 May 2021


Matthew Herbert has announced that he will release a new album in his Herbert guise later this year. ‘Musca’ will feature collaborations with eight singers and six musicians.

“Like presumably many other albums made during the last year, ‘Musca’ reflects on navigating the challenges and joys of our most intimate relationships whilst the world is in turmoil”, says Herbert. “Not just with COVID, but with the rise in state and political violence, Facebook-friendly fascism, white supremacy and a climate in crisis”.

“The week last year when I wrote most of these songs seems like another era altogether”, he continues. “I have no idea how they will sound a year later now the context has changed so markedly. The optimist in me wants to leap forwards, vaccinated into the sunshine brandishing the NHS logo, but the realist in me is aghast at the wave of death unleashed upon this country by an incompetent and corrupt government”.

“The record probably has ended up with both of those things however”, he adds, “optimism that an alternative way of organising ourselves is possible and anger and gloom that we’re not there yet”.

The first single from the album is ‘The Way’ featuring Y’akoto. The other singers on the album are Verushka Grebenar-George, Siân Roseanna, Allie Armstrong, Bianca Rose, Melissa Uye-Parker, Daisy Godfrey, Yakoto Kieck and Joy Morgan, alongside musicians Nick Ramm, Tom Herbert, Tom Skinner, Finn Peters, Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian and Leo Taylor. ‘Musca’ is out on 22 Oct.

Herbert has a number of other projects in the works, including a compilation of twelve-inch remixes and a new documentary, titled ‘Symphony Of Noise’.