Artist News Awards Business News

Idles and Dave are both double winners at AIM Awards

By | Published on Wednesday 4 September 2019


The Association Of Independent Music presented its Independent Music Awards in London last night. I know this because AIM boss Paul Pacifico told me: ‘The list of winners tonight reflects the boldness of the independent community”.

And by that he means “artists and labels who are unafraid to push the boundaries and take risks to produce some of the UK’s most cutting-edge cultural output”. He then added: “As we celebrate AIM’s 20th year championing independence, it’s amazing to see that creative spirit celebrated in this way at a venue like the Roundhouse”.

Oh yes, the awards were at The Roundhouse by the way, this year being followed up by a live show headlined by Johnny Marr, who was also handed the Pioneer Award.

Other career achievement prizes went to Blondie and, on the industry side, veteran artist manager and Eleven Seven Records boss Allen Kovac and outgoing Merlin chief Charles Caldas. In the more conventional categories, both Idles and Dave were double winners.

But enough of all this waffle, you want a full list of the honoured don’t you? I couldn’t make it myself this year because I had to attend an important meeting with a magician. But we had seventeen spies on the ground who all confirmed the following as the prize recipients…

Best Independent Label: Partisan Records
Best Small Label: Scruff Of The Neck

UK Independent Breakthrough: Idles
International Breakthrough: Jade Bird
Most Played New Independent Artist: Freya Ridings
Best Live Act: Gerry Cinnamon
One To Watch: Georgia

Best Independent Album: Dave – Psychodrama
Best [Difficult] Second Album: Idles – Joy As An Act Of Resistance
Best Independent Track: Dave feat Fredo – Funky Friday
Best Independent Video: Hot Chip – Hungry Child
Best Creative Packaging: Various Artists – Confessin The Blues

Pioneer Award: Johnny Marr
Outstanding Contribution To Music: Debbie Harry

Innovator Award: Allen Kovac
Indie Champion: Charles Caldas