Awards Business News

Independent Music Award nominees announced

By | Published on Wednesday 13 August 2014

Independent Music Awards

So I know what you’re all thinking, because, and I’ve never shared this with anyone before, but I’m actually psychic, so I know for certain that what you’re all thinking is “what are this weekend’s lottery numbers going to be?”.

Well, since you ask, here are the nominees for this year’s Independent Music Awards, which will be dished out on 2 Sep. And with my super psychic powers I’m also predicting Beggars man Martin Mills will take the Pioneer Award and Hyperdub guy Steve Goodman aka Kode9 the Innovator Award. Impressive predictions, I’m sure you’ll all agree, given the fact there are a massive one contenders for each of those awards.

Anyway, this, I think, is the perfect moment for some lists…

Independent Track Of The Year: Arctic Monkeys – Do I Wanna Know?, FKA Twigs – Water Me, Future Islands – Seasons (Waiting On You), London Grammar – Strong, Sampha – Too Much, Twin Atlantic – Heart And Soul.

Independent Album Of The Year: Actress – Ghettoville, Arctic Monkeys – AM, East India Youth – Total Strife Forever, Fred V & Grafix – Recognise, Gruff Rhys – American Interior, Kate Tempest – Everybody Down, London Grammar – If You Wait, Mogwai – Rave Tapes, Tune-Yards – Nikki Nack, Within Temptation – Hydra.

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album: Anna Calvi – One Breath, Ben Watt – Hendra, Blood Orange – Cupid Deluxe, The Pretty Reckless – Going to Hell, Withered Hand – New Gods.

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Cabaret Voltaire – Collected Works 1983-1985, Nightmares on Wax – NOWIs The Time, Small Faces – Here Comes The Nice – Immediate Years Box Set 1967-1969, The Twilight Sad: Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters (Expanded Edition), Various – Purple Snow – Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound.

Independent Video Of The Year: Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip – You Will See Me, FKA Twigs – Water Me, James – Moving On, Liars – Mess On A Mission, Royal Canoe – Birthday.

Best Live Act: Bonobo, Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip, Five Finger Death Punch, London Grammar, Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Bonobo, Femme, Gabby Young & Other Animals, Ghetts, PINS.

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Courtney Barnett, Future Islands, London Grammar, Sohn, Young Fathers.

Best Small Label: Hyperdub, Kissability, Marshall Teller Records, National Anthem, Sonic Cathedral.

Independent Label Of The Year: Because Music, Domino, Fearless Records, Hospital Records, Ninja Tune, Secretly Group.

Best Independent Festival: ArcTanGent, Barn On The Farm, Greenbelt, In The Woods, LeeFest.

Indie Champion Award: Alex Baker, Kerrang! Radio; Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music; Charles Caldas, Merlin; John Doran, The Quietus; Tim Palmer & Clemence Godard, Bird on the Wire.