Artist News Gigs & Festivals Releases

Isobel Campbell announces return with new album

By | Published on Wednesday 28 August 2019

Isobel Campbell

Belle & Sebastian founder member Isobel Campbell has announced her fifth solo album, ‘There Is No Other’. The record will be her first solo effort since 2006’s ‘Milkwhite Sheets’, and first album of any kind since her most recent Mark Lanegan collaboration, ‘Hawk’, in 2010.

The hiatus was not supposed to be so long. Campbell recorded ‘There Is No Other’ in 2014, but the sudden closure of the label she was working with at the time, before it could be released, held the record in legal limbo as she worked to claw the rights back.

“It felt like I’d retired”, she says. “Or I was in prison. To be told I could not release the record completely broke me and I started questioning everything, feeling very reluctant and shying away from everything. But if you’re lucky to live long enough, there are always going to be peaks and troughs”.

Now signed to Cooking Vinyl, the album is finally set for release on 31 Jan next year. First single, ‘Ant Life’, is out now, and tour dates are also set for early next year:

28 Jan: Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
31 Jan: Belfast, Empire Music Hall
1 Feb: Dublin, Liberty Hall
2 Feb: Manchester, Deaf Institute
3 Feb: Liverpool, Philharmonic Hall
5 Feb: Brighton, Komedia
7 Feb: London, St Pancras Old Church (two performances)