It’s the Sony Awards round up!

By | Published on Tuesday 10 May 2011

Sony Awards

So, it was the Sony Radio Academy Awards last night, the big awards bash for all in British radio, hosted this time by Chris Evans.

Annie Nightingale got a Special Award “in recognition of more than 40 years of exceptional broadcasting including her breakthrough achievements, her championship of the new, and the inspiration she has given to music makers and broadcasters alike”, while ‘Woman’s Hour’ presenter Jenni Murray got a Gold Award for “a career of exemplary broadcasting, for her incisive yet sensitive interviewing skills, her championship of the woman’s perspective and the inspiration she has given to others.”

The other winners were as follows:

Breakfast Show Of The Year (Big Station): 5 live Breakfast, BBC Radio 5 live
Breakfast Show Of The Year (Smaller Station): The Graham Mack Breakfast Show, BBC Wiltshire
Best Music Programme: Simon Mayo Drivetime, BBC Radio 2
Best Specialist Music Programme: Jazz on 3, Somethin Else for BBC Radio 3
Best Entertainment Programme: The Frank Skinner Show, Avalon for Absolute Radio
Best Speech Programme: The Infinite Monkey Cage, BBC Radio Science for BBC Radio 4
Best Sports Programme: Fighting Talk, Worlds End Television for BBC Radio 5 live
Best News & Current Affairs Programme: Victoria Derbyshire, BBC Radio 5 live

Best Breaking News Coverage: 5 live Drive: Birth Of The Coalition. BBC Radio 5 live
Best Live Event Coverage: Gold: The Ryder Cup on 5 live, BBC Radio 5 live
Best Community Programming: Warning: May Contain Nuts, BBC Radio Berkshire
Best Internet Programme: Gold: Answer Me This!,

Music Radio Personality Of The Year: Ronnie Wood – A Somethin Else production for Absolute Radio and Absolute Classic Rock
Music Broadcaster Of The Year: Zane Lowe, BBC Radio 1
Speech Radio Personality Of The Year: Danny Baker – Campbell Davison Media (for BBC Radio 5 live)/ BBC London 94.9
Speech Broadcaster Of The Year: Jeremy Vine, BBC Radio 2
News Journalist Of The Year: Matthew Price, BBC Newsgathering for BBC Radio 4
Best On-Air Contributor: Annabel Port, Absolute Radio
Best Interview: Jeremy Vine interviews Gordon Brown, BBC Radio 2

Best Use of Branded Content: Alex Masterley on Classic FM with Towry, Classic FM
Best Single Promo/Commercial: Capital’s Summertime Ball Mash-Up, 95.8 Capital FM
Best Promotional/Advertising Campaign: The FIFA World Cup 2010, South Africa on talkSPORT
Best Competition: Beat The Star, Heart West Midlands
Best Station Imaging: Kiss 100, Kiss 100 & Pure Tonic Media for Kiss 100

Best Music Special: The John Bonham Story, TBI Media for BBC 6 Music
Best News Special: Raoul Moat – The Final Hours, Real Radio North East for Real Radio
Best Feature: Heel, Toe, Step Together, Falling Tree Productions for BBC Radio 4
Best Comedy: The Jason Byrne Show, BBC Radio Comedy for BBC Radio 2
Best Drama: Every Child Matters, BBC Radio Drama Manchester for BBC Radio 4
Best Use of Multiplatform: BBC Introducing – BBC Audio & Music
Station Programmer Of The Year: Moz Dee, talkSPORT

Station Of The Year (Under 300,000): Central FM (103.1 FM)
Station Of The Year (300,000 – 1 million): BBC Radio Derby
Station Of The Year (1 Million plus): 105.4 Real Radio North West
Digital Station Of The Year: Fun Kids
UK Station Of The Year: talkSPORT