Artist News Awards

Ivor Novello Awards handed out

By | Published on Friday 24 May 2019

The Ivors

Twas the Ivor Novello Awards yesterday. The Ivors they often call them. You know, for brevity. And to make it all seem terribly jovial, so that people don’t feel intimidated. They should feel intimidated though. What’s the point of awards if people don’t feel intimidated and self-conscious? No one should come away from an awards ceremony feeling good about themselves.

After all the trophies were handed out, it emerged that 83% of recipients were first time winners. Those people probably all felt very intimidated and self-conscious in front of all the seasoned songwriters in the room. And all the seasoned songwriters probably felt very intimidated and self-conscious seeing all these fresh faces coming for their jobs.

Eyeing up all the terrified people sat quivering in their chairs, The Ivors Academy Chair Crispin Hunt said: “From heavyweights of rock, to gods of grime, jazz maestros to chart royalty; today’s celebrated music creators have been rightly recognised for their artistic merit and inspiring influence on their fellow creators. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners from The Ivors Academy”.

Mariah Carey was one of the winners this year, taking the Special International Award. She wasn’t there, but she sent a message saying: “I rarely get acknowledged for my songwriting, which is the core of who I am, so I thank you so much for this incredible, incredible honour”.

Anyway, let’s have a look at all these winners and then get on with our lives:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically: Ben Howard – Nica Libres At Dusk (Ben Howard)
Best Contemporary Song: The 1975 – Love It If We Made It (George Daniel, Adam Hann, Matthew Healy and Ross MacDonald)
Best Album: Idles – Joy As An Act Of Resistance (Jonathan Beavis, Mark Bowen, Adam Devonshire, Lee Kiernan and Joseph Talbot)
PRS For Music Most Performed Work: Rudimental feat Jess Glynne, Macklemore and Dan Caplen – These Days (Julian Bunetta, Dan Caplen, Macklemore, John Ryan and Jamie Scott)

Best Original Video Game Score: Sea Of Theives (Robin Beanland)
Best Original Film Score: Phantom Thread (Jonny Greenwood)
Best Television Soundtrack: Requiem (Natasha Khan and Dominik Scherrer)

Songwriters Of The Year: The 1975 (George Daniel, Adam Hann, Matthew Healy and Ross MacDonald)
Jazz Award: Django Bates
Special International Award: Mariah Carey
International Achievement: Deep Purple mark II line-up (Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice)

Inspiration Award: Wiley
Outstanding Song Collection: Dido
Outstanding Contribution To British Music: Richard Ashcroft