Awards Top Stories

Ivors dished out in London

By | Published on Friday 21 May 2010

British songwriters were honoured last night at the annual Ivor Novello Awards ceremony in London. That Lily Allen was the big winner of the night, taking the prize in three categories, including Best Song Musically And Lyrically for ‘The Fear’, which she co-wrote with Greg Kurstin. The pair were also named Songwriters Of The Year, and ‘The Fear’ was recognised as the most performed song of the last year. I’m never really sure if that last one really counts as a songwriting award.

Having dissed the BRITs recently (despite her winning a BRIT earlier this year), Lily later said that she thought the Ivors were the “real” awards. Which is what we all thought, until Lily Allen won three of them in one go.

Paul Weller was given the Lifetime Achievement Award, recognising 33 years of writing songs. The award was presented by Noel Gallagher, who proclaimed: “This is a man who is rock”. Weller added: “I’ve enjoyed the last 33 years I’ve been writing songs and hopefully, with God’s good grace, I’ll do some more”.

Trevor Horn won the Outstanding Contribution To British Music Award (which is different to the Lifetime Achievement Award) and Johnny Marr won the Inspiration Award (which is different to the Outstanding Contribution To British Music Award).

Here are all the winners in full:

Best Contemporary Song: Bat For Lashes – Daniel (Natasha Khan)

Best Song Musically And Lyrically: Lily Allen – The Fear (Lily Allen/Greg Kurstin)

Best Television Soundtrack: Desperate Romantics (Daniel Pemberton)

Album Award: Paolo Nutini – Sunny Side Up (Paolo Nutini)

PRS For Music Most Performed Work: Lily Allen – The Fear (Lily Allen/Greg Kurstin)

Best Original Film Score: Ice Age 3: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs (John Powell)

Best Original Video Game Score: Killzone 2 (Joris de Man)

International Achievement: Imogen Heap

Lifetime Achievement: Paul Weller

PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music: Trevor Horn

Songwriters Of The Year: Lily Allen and Greg Kurstin

Special International Award: Neil Sedaka

The Academy Fellowship: Tim Rice

The Ivors Classical Music Award: Peter Maxwell Davies

The Ivors Inspiration Award: Johnny Marr