Artist News Awards

Ivors nominations announced

By | Published on Tuesday 10 August 2021

The Ivors

The shortlists for this year’s Ivors Awards from The Ivors Academy are out. And if you don’t believe me, well, you’re going to feel like a fool when you scroll down and see all the shortlists I’ve lovingly collated and formatted for you.

And if you won’t believe me, maybe you’ll listen to Shaznay Lewis, Chair of the Ivors Awards Committee, who says: “Over the last year we’ve felt the power of songwriting and the stories told through music. The Ivors are so important because they celebrate where all the music begins – with songwriters and composers”.

“The judges have chosen a selection of exceptional music that moves, unites and inspires us”, she adds. “Congratulations to all our nominees, and I’m really delighted that the majority are recognised with an Ivor nomination for the first time”.

Here are those lists, with the nominated writers and composers included in the brackets…

Best Album
Fontaines DC – A Hero’s Death (Grian Chatten, Thomas Coll, Conor Curley, Conor Deegan and Carlos O’Connell)
Lianne La Havas – Lianne La Havas (Matthew Hales and Lianne La Havas)
Pa Salieu – Send Them To Coventry (Felix Joseph, Alastair O’Donnell and Pa Salieu)
Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter (Laura Marling)
Tom Misch + Yussef Dayes – What Kinda Music (Yussef Dayes, Tom Misch and Rocco Palladino)

Best Contemporary Song
Future Utopia feat Dave & Es Devlin – Children Of The Internet (Dave and Fraser T Smith)
Ashnikko – Daisy (Ashnikko and Slinger)
Pa Salieu feat Mahalia – Energy (Kwes Darko, Felix Joseph, Mahalia, Alastair O’Donnell and Pa Salieu)
Rachel Chinouriri- Give Me A Reason (Rachel Chinouriri and Tom Henry)
For Those I Love – Top Scheme (David Balfe)

Best Song Musically And Lyrically
Arlo Parks – Black Dog (Gianluca Buccellati and Arlo Parks)
Headie One & Fred Again – Gang (Fred Again and Headie One)
Obongjayar – God’s Own Children (Barney Lister and Obongjayar)
Marina – Man’s World (Marina)
Celeste – Stop This Flame (Celeste and Jamie Hartman)

PRS For Music Most Performed Work
Harry Styles – Adore You (Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles)
Lewis Capaldi – Before You Go (Tom Barnes, Lewis Capaldi, Pete Kelleher, Ben Kohn and Phil Plested)
Joel Corry feat Mnek – Head & Heart (Jonathan Courtidis, Dan Dare and Robert Harvey)
Lewis Capaldi – Someone You Loved (Tom Barnes, Lewis Capaldi, Pete Kelleher, Ben Kohn and Sam Roman)
Harry Styles – Watermelon Sugar (Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon, Mitchell Rowland and Harry Styles)

Best Original Film Score
Calm With Horses (Blanck Mass)
Four Kids And It (Anne Nikitin)
Saint Maud (Adam Janota Bzowski)
The Trial Of The Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton)
Two By Two: Overboard! (Craig Stuart Garfinkle and Eimear Noone)

Best Television Soundtrack
A Suitable Boy (Alex Heffes and Anoushka Shankar)
Devs (Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury and The Insects)
Dracula (David Arnold and Michael Price)
Noughts + Crosses (Matthew Herbert)
Us (Oli Julian)

Best Original Video Game Score
Ghost Of Tsushima (Ilan Eshkeri and Shigeru Umebayashi)
Little Orpheus (Jessica Curry and Jim Fowler)
Ori And The Will Of The Wisps (Gareth Coker)

Songwriter Of The Year
AJ Tracey
Celeste and Jamie Hartman
Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles