MGMT announce LateNightTales compilation

By | Published on Thursday 4 August 2011


MGMT have been announced as the latest act to add a mix to the LateNightTales compilation series, which is celebrating its tenth anniversary this year.

The band’s Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser’s selections are as eclectic as you might hope, featuring everything from The Television Personalities to 60’s Christian folk singer Dave Bixby. The band themselves also contribute an exclusive Bauhaus cover, and the mix is completed by the second part of Paul Morley’s short story, ‘Lost For Words’ (part one having appeared on Trentemøller’s recently released contribution to the series).

The compilation will be released on 3 Oct, and the tracklist is as follows:

Disco Inferno – Can’t See Through It
The Great Society – Love You Girl
Suicide – Cheree
Television Personalities – Stop And Smell The Roses
The Velvet Underground – Ocean
Felt – Red Indians
Julian Cope – Laughing Boy
Durutti Column – For Belgium Friends
Charlie Feathers – Mound Of Clay
Mark Fry – For Wilde
MGMT – All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
Cheval Sombre – Troubled Mind
Dave Bixby – Drug Song
The Jacobites – Hearts Are Like Flowers
The Chills – Pink Frost
Martin Rev – Sparks
The Wake – Melancholy Man
Spacemen 3 – Lord Can You Hear Me?
Pauline Anna Strom – Morning Splendor
Paul Morley – Lost For Words Part 2