Awards Business News

MPG Award 2021 nominations out

By | Published on Monday 14 December 2020

MPG Awards 2021

The UK’s Music Producers Guild has announced the shortlists for its 2021 awards, even though those gongs won’t be handed out until June, the annual event having been pushed back next year because of COVID.

Commenting on this year’s shortlists, Tony Platt, MD of MPG Awards, says: “In spite of the current situation we were delighted to find an increased engagement with both the submissions process and the voting, resulting in a very varied shortlist”.

“Music has been a lifeline for many during the dark days of lockdown”, he goes on, “and the resilience of our music makers finding innovative ways to keep music alive deserves to be recognised across the board. We are looking forward to a fabulous event in June when we will hopefully be celebrating the start of a return to some kind of normality. Keep safe”.

Here are the shortlists…

UK Producer Of The Year
Ben Hillier
Marta Salogni

Recording Engineer Of The Year
Dani Bennett Spragg
Daniel Moyler
Richard Woodcraft

Mix Engineer Of The Year
Cenzo Townshend
Dan Grech-Marguerat
David Wrench

Remixer Of The Year
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year
Burke Reid
Cameron Gower Poole

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year
Four Tet (Kieran Hebden)
Glass Animals (Dave Bayley)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year
Grace Banks
Jonathan Gilmore
Shuta Shinoda

UK Writer-Producer Of The Year
Ben Hillier
Steph Marziano

Mastering Engineer Of The Year
Cicely Balston
Katie Tavini
Stuart Hawkes

UK Album Of The Year
Dua Lipa – Future Nostalgia
Idles – Ultra Mono
Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka

UK Single Song Release Of The Year
Harry Styles – Adore You
Mura Masa with Slowthai – Deal Wiv It
Stormzy feat Ed Sheeran and Burna Boy – Own It

UK Original Score Recording Of The Year
Alexandre Desplat – Little Women (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury, The Insects – Devs (Original Series Soundtrack)
Hannah Peel – The Deceived (Original Television Soundtrack)

The Studio Of The Year Award
Metropolis Studios
Parr Street Studios