Awards Business News

MPG Award noms announced

By | Published on Tuesday 13 December 2011

MPG Awards 2012

So, dudes, the noms are out for the 2012 Music Producers Guild Awards, which will take place in London on 16 Feb. As always, the top Producer Of The Year prize will double up as the BRIT for Best Producer.

Says MPG boss Steve Levine: “An MPG Award is highly coveted by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers. Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. To win an MPG Award shows that you recognised to be at the top of your game as a recording professional”.

And here’s the noms in full. Meanwhile, why not check out our recent interview with Levine who discussed the art of the record producer, and the impact changes in the industry are having on the profession.

Producer Of The Year: Paul Epworth, Flood, Ethan Johns
Breakthrough Producer Of The Year: Stevan Krakovic, James Rutledge,Yogi
International Producer Of The Year: T-Bone Burnett, Dimitri Tikpovoi, Butch Vig

Recording Engineer Of The Year: Dan Austin, Haydn Bendall, Geoff Foster
Mix Engineer Of The Year: Dave Bascombe, Tom Elmhirst, Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Mastering Engineer Of The Year: John Dent, Mandy Parnell, Ray Staff
Remixer Of The Year: James Rutledge, Jamie XX, Starsmith (Finlay Dow-Smith)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year: George Apsion, Tom Morris, Lee Slater
International Recording Engineer Of The Year: Andrew Scheps, Jonathan Shakhovskoy, Craig Silvey

Live Production Of The Year: Later With Jools Holland, Radiohead Live In Praha, The Who Live At Leeds/Hull
UK Album Of The Year 2011: Adele – 21, Everything Everything – Man Alive, PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
UK Single Of The Year 2011: Adele – Rolling In The Deep, Noah & The Whale – l.i.f.e.g.o.e.s.o.n, Anna Calvi – Desire

More information at