Awards Business News Industry People

MPG gives out annual awards

By | Published on Monday 17 February 2014

MPG Awards

The Music Producers Guild presented its pet awards, the members-decided MPGs, last week, and gee whiz, and I’m not lying when I say this; it was exciting.

The evening’s main highlights were the giving of 2014’s first BRIT, aka the BRITs-backed Producer(s) Of The Year title, which went to Mark ‘Flood’ Ellis and Alan Moulder for their work on Foals’ ‘Holy Fire’, which of course also won Album Of The Year.

That, and Trevor Horn delivering a live set, and being presented, deservingly, with this year’s Outstanding Contribution prize.

Steve Levine, Chairman of the Music Producers Guild, says: “Our winners highlight the creativity that is inherent in UK music production, and when you look at the amazing work these recording professionals have done in the past twelve months it is no surprise that Britain’s recording talent remains the envy of the rest of the world”.

The full winners list is thus:

Producers Of The Year: Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder

Recording Engineer Of The Year: Guy Massey
Mix Engineer Of The Year: Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Mastering Engineer Of The Year: John Dent
Remixer Of The Year: MJ Cole (Matthew Coleman)

International Producer Of The Year: Rick Rubin
Breakthrough Producer Of The Year: Disclosure (Guy Lawrence, Howard Lawrence)
Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year: Dan Cox

UK Album Of The Year: Foals – Holy Fire
UK Single Song Of The Year: Everything Everything – Kemosabe

Studio Of The Year: RAK Studios

The A&R Award: Jim Chancellor

The MPG Innovation Award: David Bowie
The MPG Inspiration Award: Nile Rodgers
Special Recognition Award: Sean Davies
The Outstanding Contribution To UK Music: Trevor Horn