Awards Business News

UK Music Video Awards presented

By | Published on Tuesday 29 October 2013

UK Music VIdeo Awards

It was the UK Music Video Awards in London last night, with a plethora of gongs dished out to the creators of music video joy.

Commenting on this year’s bash, the award show’s Editorial Director David Knight told CMU: “In a year where some pop videos have courted notoriety, this year’s UK Music Video Awards has highlighted the true range of creativity that can come out of the process of adding visuals to music. It was also wonderful to bestow our Icon Award on Julien Temple, a director who was courting controversy with his work over 30 years ago with the Sex Pistols, and is still adding to the language of music and film today”.

And the winners…

UK Awards
Best Pop Video: Alex Court├Ęs for Willy Moon – Yeah Yeah
Best Dance Video: Josh Cole for Rudimental – Not Giving In
Best Rock/Indie Video: Ninan Doff for Darwin Deez – Free (The Editorial Me)
Best Alternative Video: BISON for London Grammar – Wasting My Young Years
Best Urban Video: Ian & Cooper for Joel Compass – Back To Me

International Awards
Best Pop Video: Melina Matsoukas for Solange Knowles – Losing You
Best Dance Video: Fleur & Manu for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit
Best Rock/Indie Video: Megaforce for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege
Best Alternative Video: Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes
Best Urban Video: Andreas Nilsson for 2 Chainz feat Kanye West – Birthday Song

Budget Project Awards
Best Pop Video: Zaiba Jabbar for Tiny Dancer – Who Am I
Best Dance Video: Ola Martin Fjeld for Pixel – Call Me
Best Rock/Indie Video: Stevie Russell for Kodaline – All I Want
Best Alternative Video: Fleur & Manu for Connan Mockasin – Faking Jazz Together
Best Urban Video: LAMAR+NIK for Lushlife – Magnolia

Best Art Direction & Design: CANADA for Phoenix – Trying To Be Cool
Best Styling: Angela Esteban Librero for DJ Fresh vs Diplo feat Dominque Young Unique – Earthquake
Best Choreography: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Sigur Ros – Valtari
Best Cinematography: Steve Annis for Jon Hopkins – Open Eye Signal
Best Colour Grade: Aubrey Woodiwiss for Foals – Late Night
Best Animation: Tom Jobbins for Hiatus feat Shura – We Can Be Ghosts Now
Best Editing: Sophie Fourdrinoy for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege
Best Visual Effects: Mathematic Paris for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit

Best Live Coverage: Dick Carruthers for Led Zeppelin – Celebration Day
Best Music Ad: Powster for Laura Mvula – Sing To The Moon
Best Interactive Video: Moniker for Do Not Touch – Kilo by Light Light
Video Of The Year: Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes

Best Director: Megaforce
Best New Director: Andrew Thomas Huang
Best Producer: Liz Kessler
Best Commissioner: Dan Curwin
Best New Video Artist: Naughty Boy feat Sam Smith for La La La

The Icon Award: Julien Temple