Artist News Releases

New Prince album coming in September

By | Published on Friday 8 June 2018


The Prince estate marked what would have been the musician’s 60th birthday yesterday by announcing a new album, to be released later this year.

Titled ‘Prince & A Microphone: 1983’, the nine track record is a recording of a rehearsal at Prince’s home, featuring the musician performing solo on piano. It features a cover of Joni Mitchell’s ‘A Case Of You’ and a version of ‘Purple Rain’, which at the time was unreleased.

The album is set for release on 21 Sep, and a track from it, ‘Mary Don’t You Weep’, was also made available yesterday.

Here’s the full tracklist:

1. 17 Days
2. Purple Rain
3. A Case Of You
4. Mary Don’t You Weep
5. Strange Relationship
6. International Lover
7. Wednesday
8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9. Why The Butterflies