Artist News One Liners Releases

One Liners: Billie Eilish, Beyonce, Sam Smith, more

By | Published on Friday 31 July 2020

Billie Eilish


Billie Eilish has shared brand new single ‘My Future’. “It’s a song that’s really really personal and special to me”, she says. “When we wrote this song, it was exactly where my head was at – hopeful, excited and a craaaazy amount of self-reflection and self-growth. But recently it has also taken on a lot of new meaning in the context of what’s happening in the world now. I hope you can all find meaning in it for yourselves”.

Beyonce has released the video for ‘Already’, featuring Shatta Wale and Major Lazer, taken from her ‘Black Is King’ visual album, which is out on Disney+ today.

Sam Smith has released new single ‘My Oasis’, featuring Burna Boy. “This track has been a beautiful release of emotions for me during this time”, says Smith. “I’ve been a fan of Burna Boy for years now and am so happy to have a tune with him”.

A$AP Ferg has released new single ‘Move Ya Hips’, featuring Nicki Minaj and MadeinTYO.

Bastille have released new single ‘What You Gonna Do???’, featuring Blur’s Graham Coxon. “We finished the song and it felt urgent”, says the band’s Dan Smith. “We didn’t want to sit on it. We want to put it out now and not wait for the whole album to be done before anyone starts to hear it. This is about where we are now and hearing us in real-time”.

AG Cook has announced the release of a perhaps excessive 49 track new album called ‘7G’. Split across seven discs – titled ‘Drums’, ‘Guitar’, ‘Supersaw’, ‘Piano’, ‘Nord’, ‘Spoken Word’ and ‘Extreme Vocals’ – the record mixes original tracks with covers of artists including Blur, The Smashing Pumpkins, Taylor Swift and Sia. Here is a seven minute megamix by way of introduction. The album is out on 12 Aug.

Jorja Smith has released new single ‘By Any Means’. “The inspiration behind ‘By Any Means’ really came from going to the Black Lives Matter protest and leaving thinking, what can I do to keep this conversation going? It’s not just a post on social media, it’s life”, she says.

Mastodon have put out the opening track of an upcoming rarities compilation, ‘Fallen Torches’. It was, they say, “recorded in Atlanta in 2019, originally planned to be released in support of a European tour”. But that release didn’t happen, hence they get to call it a ‘rarity’ now. The compilation, titled ‘Medium Rarities’, will be out on 11 Sep.

Ava Max has announced that she will release her debut album, ‘Heaven & Hell’, on 18 Sep. Here’s new single, ‘Who’s Laughing Now’.

Griff has released new track ‘Say It Again’. “When I wrote ‘Say It Again’, a lot of my girlfriends were going through mental health issues, and I felt so helpless”, she says. “So this song is basically my helpless self-trying to reassure a friend who’s going through a really difficult time”.

Mariah The Scientist has put out new track ‘Always N Forever’, featuring Lil Baby.

Greg Puciato has released new track ‘Roach Hiss’, featuring Converge’s Ben Koller on drums.

Iliketrains have released new single ‘A Steady Hand’. Their new album, ‘Kompromat’, is out on 21 Aug.

Oklou has announced that she will release her debut mixtape, ‘Galore’, on 24 Sep. From it, this is ‘Unearth Me’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |