Artist News Brands & Merch Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Robbie Williams, Hootie And The Blowfish, St Vincent, more

By | Published on Friday 18 October 2019


Hootie And The Blowfish have signed a worldwide publishing administration deal with Big Deal Music Group, in a joint venture with veteran music exec Rick Krim. It comes ahead of their first album for fifteen years, ‘Imperfect Circle’. “We are very honoured to be working with them, as well as Rick, and are excited for their fans all over the world to hear this amazing new album”, says Big Deal Co-President Jamie Cerreta.



Champagne maker Veuve Clicquot will set up a sneaky champagne bar in Covent Garden in London next month, and its interior will be the “creative vision” of St Vincent. It’ll be “part speakeasy, part sensory space”. If you want to experience that, it’ll only be there on 22-23 Nov. After that you’ll just have to drink your champagne in the street.



Robbie Williams is releasing a Christmas album, called ‘The Christmas Present’. It will feature 28 tracks. 28! He’s splitting them over two discs titled ‘Christmas Past’ and ‘Christmas Future’. The first is all Christmas classics, while the second is original songs. Guests on the record include Jamie Cullum, Rod Stewart, Bryan Adams and Williams’ own dad Peter Conway. It’s out on 22 Nov.

Missy Elliott has released the video for ‘DripDemeanor’, from her recent ‘Iconology’ EP.

The National’s Matt Berninger has released the video for solo track ‘Walking On A String’, featuring Phoebe Bridgers.

Perfume Genius has released new single ‘Pop Song’. “I imagined an ecstatic pile of bodies preparing to be consumed by the gods”, he says of the song. “A joyous communal sacrifice of the physical to spiritually level up. The lyric is like a conjuration spell to be sung when the mountain of bodies settles in position and is held still as an offering”.

Flight Facilities have released new single ‘Better Than Ever’, featuring Aloe Blacc on vocals. Here’s the video.

Black Lips have released new single ‘Odelia’. The band will release a new album via a partnership with Vice and Fire Records next year.

Twin Atlantic have announced that they will release new album ‘Power’ on 24 Jan. Here’s first single ‘Novocaine’. The band will also be touring the UK in March, including a show at London’s Electric Ballroom on 20 Mar.

Catholic Action have released new single ‘One Of Us’ as they begin a UK tour. Their new album, ‘Celebrated By Strangers’, is out on 27 Mar.

Porches has released new single ‘Rangerover’.

Liam J Hennessy has released ‘Emerge’, the first single from his debut album, ‘In The Half Light’, out on Bigo & Twigetti on 14 Nov.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | |