Artist News Business News Digital Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Spotify, Avicii, Yeasayer, more

By | Published on Thursday 11 April 2019


Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Spotify CEO Daniel Ek is interviewed on the new episode of Freakonomics Radio, talking about how Spotify is great. I mean, really fucking great. So, that’s that confirmed. At last!

• The first track from Avicii’s posthumous album, ‘Tim’, has been released. Here’s ‘SOS’, featuring Aloe Blacc.

• Yeasayer have announced that they will release new album ‘Erotic Reruns’ on 7 Jun. Here are two new songs, ‘Let Me Listen In On You’ and ‘I’ll Kiss You Tonight’.

• Beirut has released the video for ‘When I Die’ from new album, ‘Gallipoli’.

• Panda Bear has released the video for the title track of his new album ‘Buoys’. “Dogs see past how many followers we have and how many tickets we sell”, he says.

• Virtual celebrity Miquela has released new single ‘Right Back’.

• Kaytranada has released new track ‘Dysfunctional’, featuring R&B duo VanJess.

• Self Esteem has released the video for recent single ‘(Girl) Crush’. “It was difficult to know how to tell the story of the lyrics in a video for ‘(Girl) Crush'”, she says. “I wanted to avoid clickable queerness or a super on the nose telling of the story. I remembered a cartoon my ex-partner would draw of me as a large fluffy yellow creature called Creature. I decided the only way to tell the story of the fetishisation of otherness was by getting off with Creature aka myself. Naturally. Long suffering collaborator Piers Dennis came on board to direct and as ever did a beautiful job. It’s not a girl crush, it’s just a crush”.

• Anna Of The North has released new single ‘Used To Be’. The song “is a reminder back to when we were young and didn’t worry about superficial things that often take too much of our attention these days”, she says. “Let’s just go and throw a ball at the wall together and appreciate each other for a second”.

• Snow Ghosts have released new single ‘Heavy Heart’. Their new album, ‘A Quiet Ritual’, is out on 3 May.

• Rev Magnetic (led by Mogwai’s Luke Sutherland) have announced that they will release their debut album, ‘Versus Universe’, on 10 May. From it, this is ‘Yonder Là-Haut’.

• Faye Webster has released new track ‘Flowers’, taken from her debut album, ‘Atlanta Millionaires Club’, which is out on 24 May. Webster will play this year’s multi-city Dot To Dot festival next month, plus a two night residency at London’s Bermondsey Social Club on 28-29 May.

• Coucou Chloe has released new track ‘Gecko’.

• Black metal band Abbath have released new single, ‘Harvest Pyre’. New album, ‘Outstrider’, is out on 5 Jul.

• Gary Numan has announced that he will be heading out on a 40th anniversary tour of the UK September and October, culminating with a show at London’s Roundhouse on 24 Oct.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.