Artist News Awards Business News

One Love Manchester team honoured at AMAs

By | Published on Wednesday 15 November 2017

One Love Manchester

The team behind the special One Love Manchester show, that took place earlier this year following the bomb attack on the Manchester Arena, were presented with the Industry Champions prize at the Artist & Manager Awards in London last night.

The UK’s Music Managers Forum and Featured Artist Coalition handed the award to Ariana Grande, her manager Scooter Braun, and promoters Melvin Benn and Simon Moran, in recognition of the high profile televised benefit concert that was put together in mere days as Manchester, and the world at large, came to terms with the terrorist attack that had occurred at the conclusion of one of Grande’s concerts in the city.

In a video message screened at the awards event, Braun paid tribute to the people of Manchester, insisting the award was for the entire city. He said: “Although this is incredible, I want us to remember that the city of Manchester and all those families are the real heroes. 60,000 people of Manchester came forward and filled that stadium”.

He added: “It was the greatest act of defiance in the face of evil that I’ve ever witnessed, and I will never ever forget it. On behalf of myself, Ariana and the rest of the team, I want to say to the city of Manchester ‘thank you’ – this is your award tonight, and you have taught us all a valuable lesson. Evil will never win”.

Commenting on the award, MMF CEO Annabella Coldrick added: “The terrorist attack at Ariana Grande’s Manchester Arena show was one of the year’s darkest moments, targeting young music fans and their families. It left 22 dead and more than 250 injured”.

She went on: “To organise a concert in their memory, and to turn it into a joyous celebration of youth and music, was an incredible achievement. The MMF and FAC are humbled to honour the team behind One Love Manchester, and would like to dedicate this award to all those still impacted by the events of 22 May”.

The Industry Champion prize was one of eleven handed out at the AMA event last night. The full list of winners is as follows:

Manager Of The Year Award: Tap Management
Writer/Producer Manager Award: Jill Hollywood, Echo Beach Management
Breakthrough Manager Award: Kilo Jalloh & Moe Bah, 2K Management
Peter Grant Award For Lifetime Achievement: Jonathan Kessler

Artist Of The Year Award: Rag N Bone Man
Breakthrough Artist Award: Tom Misch
Artists’ Artist Award: Tracey Thorn

Entrepreneur Award: Niamh Byrne & Regine Moylett, Eleven Management
Pioneer Award: Giggs, Michael ‘Buck’ Maris & Trenton Harrison-Lewis
Unsung Hero Award: Jon Webster
Industry Champion Award: Ariana Grande, Scooter Braun, Simon Moran, Melvin Benn

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | |