Artist News Awards

Oram Awards winners announced

By | Published on Tuesday 3 November 2020

Oram Awards

Loula Yorke and NikNak have been announced as the main winners of this year’s Oram Awards, both winning £1500 bursaries from the PRS Foundation. Poulomi Desai, Una Lee, Vicky Clarke and Yifeat Ziv also receive £500 bursaries.

Now in its fourth year, the Oram Awards is a collaboration between the New BBC Radiophonic Workshop and the PRS Foundation, recognising innovation in music and sound by women, girls and gender minorities.

“I will be able to access mentorship for the first time, and I hope to take my instruments on a mini-tour, creating connections and performing to new audiences in other regions of the UK”, says Loula Yorke.

NikNak – real name Nicole Raymond – adds: “I believe that turntablism has not yet been represented in the New BBC Radiophonic workshop and so to be the first turntablist to be in the cohort is a true honour”.

One of this year’s judges, composer Nik Void, commented: “I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of being involved in this year’s Oram Awards judging panel. I joined a panel whose collective experience across the industry brought diverse perspectives and a lively discussion. It was a real pleasure to see such a display of commitment across a range of practices from the applicants, and it was no easy task choosing the final six winners”.

“With thanks to PRS Foundation and The New BBC Radiophonic Workshop for their role in championing the work of women and gender minority music creators”, Void added, “I look forward to seeing this new community of next generation musicians and artists thrive, creating new and exciting work that pushes the boundaries of innovation”.

The winner’s ceremony has been postponed until 2021. However, each winner will be profiled on BBC Radio 3’s ‘Unclassified’ over the next six weeks. You can also see a brief winners video here:

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | |