Polaris Prize confirms official shortlist

By | Published on Thursday 18 July 2013

Polaris Music Prize

The fates at Canada’s critics/media-decided Polaris Prize, aka the Mercury-style award for the year’s best Canadian LP, have named the ten artists still eligible to win. Featuring Metric, METZ, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Purity Ring and Tegan & Sara, the final list follows a longlist released this time last month.

The winning act, past examples of which are Feist, Arcade Fire and Fucked Up, will be revealed on 23 Sep.

And the nominations are…

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol 3: To See More Light
Tegan & Sara – Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine