Purity Ring, Tegan & Sara, Mac Demarco make Polaris Music Prize longlist

By | Published on Monday 17 June 2013

Polaris Music Prize

The all-hearing oracles at Canada’s Polaris Prize HQ have listed the acts nominated to win their ‘Best Canadian Album Of The Year’ award this time round.

Mac Demarco, Purity Ring, METZ, Metric, Rhye, Suuns and Tegan & Sara are all in the mix, appearing on a longlist of 40 artists that’ll be slashed to 10 on 16 Jul. The main prize will be given at a gala night in Toronto on 23 Sep. Details here.

Steve Jordan, Polaris Founder and Executive Director, says: “This year’s longlist is all over the map, but in the best possible way. A lot of our jury expressed that this was the most difficult Polaris ballot they’ve ever submitted. The results of this careful and passionate deliberation will make for some truly engaging listening for music lovers”.

2012’s Polaris Prize, by the way, was won by one Leslie Feist for ‘Metals’.