Artist News Gigs & Festivals Releases

Steve Mason announces new album, About The Light

By | Published on Tuesday 18 September 2018

Steve Mason

Steve Mason has announced that he will release a new album, ‘About The Light’, at the beginning of next year. First single, ‘Stars Around My Heart’, is out now.

His fourth solo album under his own name, the former Beta Band frontman worked with producer Stephen Street. He also enlisted his live band to join him in the studio for the first time.

“I decided with this album that I wanted to get my live band involved at every stage”, says Mason. “I wanted to capture the energy that we produce when we play live shows, so this time the band and myself worked on a collection of songs over the course of last year”.

“When I listen to this album it feels and sounds like the first ‘legitimate’ record that I have ever made”, he continues. “It’s hard to explain but it sounds like a ‘real’ album. I think that is partly the production, the playing and the work that I did with the band for all those months in our rehearsal room on the South Coast”.

He concludes: “It’s a beautiful, confident, positive, angry, loving and gentle album which once again moves what I do forward”.

The album is out on 18 Jan, and you can watch the video for ‘Stars Around My Heart’ here;

There are also tour dates scheduled to coincide with the release. Here they are:

30 Jan: Newcastle, Riverside
31 Jan: Glasgow, SWG3
1 Feb: Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall
2 Feb: Manchester, Academy 2
7 Feb: London, Hackney Arts Centre
8 Feb: Bristol, The Fleece
9 Feb: Brighton, St Bartholomew’s Church