Artist News Awards Business News Labels & Publishers

The Ivor Novello Awards happened

By | Published on Friday 1 June 2018

Ivor Novello Awards

It was the Ivor Novello Awards yesterday. The big gong-giving bash for songwriting talent. Ed Sheeran was the big winner, being the only artist to take away more than one trophy. Although one of them was the Most Performed Work prize, which I’m not sure really counts. He did take Songwriter Of The Year though, which I guess is one of the big ones.

Other winners included Stormzy, for his ‘Gang Signs And Prayer’ album, and fellow rapper Dave, whose track ‘Question Time’ was named Best Contemporary Song. Meanwhile, Elbow’s ‘Magnificent (She Says)’ was named Best Song Musically And Lyrically.

Commenting on the ceremony, Chair of awards organiser BASCA, Crispin Hunt, said: “The Ivors celebrate the best in British and Irish music writing. Our composers and songwriters prove, again and again, that they are some of the best in the world”.

He mused on: “It is an immense privilege for BASCA to honour the extraordinary talent that exists in our sector, recognising creators across a vast range of contemporary music genres and awarding those who have created some of the most outstanding catalogues in music history. To every single winning composer, congratulations from all of us, you are spectacular and a credit to our amazing industry”.

Here are all the winners:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically: Elbow – Magnificent (She Says) (Guy Garvey, Craig Potter, Mark Potter and Pete Turner)
Best Contemporary Song: Dave – Question time (Dave and Fraser T Smith)
Most Performed Work: Ed Sheeran – Shape Of You (Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran)
Album Award: Stormzy – Gang Signs And Prayer (Michael ‘Stormzy’ Omari)

Best Original Film Score: Jackie (Mica Levi)
Best Television Soundtrack: The Miniaturist (Dan Jones)
Best Original Video Game Score: Horizon Zero Dawn (Joris de Man, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith)

Songwriter Of The Year: Ed Sheeran
Outstanding Song Collection: Cathy Dennis
Classical Music Award: Thea Musgrave
Inspiration Award: Shane MacGowan
International Achievement: Billy Ocean
Special International Award: Lionel Richie
Outstanding Contribution To Music: Billy Bragg