Artist News Awards Business News

UK Music Video Awards presented

By | Published on Friday 5 November 2021

UK Music Video Awards

The UK Music Video Awards returned last night at The Roundhouse in London, with Duck Sauce’s ‘Mesmerize’ being declared video of the year, and Ukrainian director Tanu Muino taking the overall Best Director prize for her work on videos by the likes of Lil Nas X, Cardi B and Normani.

Lots of awards were presented, with lots of people involved in the winning videos. So, let’s get onto the winner list quickly, shall we?

Here it is, the big old list of winners:

Video Of The Year: Duck Sauce – Mesmerize (director: Keith Schofield; repped by Caviar; commissioner: Katy Eggleton for Duck Sauce)

UK awards

Best Pop Video: Dua Lipa – Love Again (director: Lope Serrano; producers: Karen Saurí, Oscar Romagosa; prod co: Canada; commissioner: Katie Dolan for Warner Records)

Best R&B / Soul Video: Celeste – Tonight Tonight (director: Noah Lee; producers: Kate Brady, Suzan Mustafa; prod co: Riff Raff Films; commissioner: Marco Grey for Polydor Records)

Best Dance / Electronic Video: Hot Chip, Jarvis Cocker – Straight To The Morning (director: RÉALITÉ; producer: Karen Saurí; prod co: Canada; commissioner: John Moule for Domino Recording Co)

Best Rock Video: Beabadoobee – Last Day On Earth (director: Arnaud Bresson; producer: Théo Gall; prod co: Division; commissioner: Chris Melian for Dirty Hit Records)

Best Alternative Video: James Blake – Say What You Will (director: Bear Damen; producer: Salim El Arja; prod co: Couscous; commissioner: Semera Khan for Polydor Records)

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video: Pa Salieu feat Backroad Gee – My Family (director: Femi Ladi; producer: Mathias Gilay; prod co: Untold Studios; commissioner: Oksi Odedina for Warner Records)

International awards

Best Pop Video: Lil Nas X feat Jack Harlow – Industry Baby (director: Christian Breslauer; producers: Andrew Lerios, Luga Podesta, Saul Levitz, Brandon Bonfiglio; prod co: London Alley; commissioner: Saul Levitz for Columbia Records)

Best R&B / Soul Video: Normani x Cardi B – Wild Side (director: Tanu Muino; producer: Jack Winter; prod co: UnderWonder Content; commissioners: Camille Yorrick & Chris Clavadetscher for RCA Records)

Best Dance / Electronic Video: Duck Sauce – Mesmerize (director: Keith Schofield; repped by Caviar; commissioner: Katy Eggleton for Duck Sauce)

Best Rock Video: Biting Elbows – Boy Is Dead (director: Ilya Naishuller; prod co: Versus Pictures; commissioner: MTS)

Best Alternative Video: Sansara – We Will Become Better (director: Andzej Gavriss; producers: Egor Solomatin, Mikhail Marizov, Evgeny Primachenko, Andrei Gubaidullin, Alexandra Galius; prod co: Daddy’s Film; commissioner: Egor Solomatin for Nepokoi)

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video: Megan Thee Stallion – Thot Shit (director: Aube Perrie; exec producer: Boris Labourguigne; producer: Sarah Park & Nick Callais; prod co: Left Productions; commissioner: Lucas Prevost for 300 Entertainment)

Newcomer awards

Best Pop Video: Drew Sycamore – 45 Fahrenheit Girl (director: Jonatan Egholm Keis; producer: Jonatan Egholm Keis; prod co: New Land; commissioner: Jan-Erik Stig for Warner Music Denmark)

Best R&B / Soul Video: Bamao Yendé & Le Diouck – Marvin Gueye (director: Vincent Catel; producer: Roman Pichon Herrera & Pierre-Edouard Sigwalt; prod co: Diplomats; commissioner: Max Le Disez for Boukan Records)

Best Dance / Electronic Video: Modeselektor – Mean Friend (director: Abigail Wilson; producer: Paulien Voorkamp; prod co: Bwgtbld; commissioner: Matthias Klein / C/O Magick for Sony Music)

Best Rock Video: Jeremy Ivey – Someone Else’s Problem (director: Kimberly Stuckwisch; producer: Ian Blair; prod co: Invisible Inc; commissioner: Ryan Marian for Anti Records)

Best Alternative Video: Audiobooks – Lalala It’s The Good Life (director: Rottingdean Bazaar; producer: Rosie Brear; prod co: Blink Productions; commissioner: Danny Mitchell & Jeff Barrett for Heavenly Recordings)

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video: Homeboy Sandman – Monument (director: Pavel Buryak; producers: Gretta Wilson, Pavel Buryak; rod co: Rafesthetic-tv; commissioner: Angel Del Villar for Mello Music Group)

Specialism awards

Best Performance: Salvatore Ganacci – Step-Grandma (performer: Salvatore Ganacci; director: Vedran Rupic; prod co: Business Club Royale; record co: Zatara Recordings)

Best Production Design: DJ Snake & Selena Gomez – Selfish Love (production designer: Taísa Malouf; director: Rodrigo Saavedra; prod co: The Directors Bureau & Landia; record co: Interscope)

Best Wardrobe Styling: Joy Crookes – Feet Don’t Fail Me Now (stylists: Matthew Josephs (Joy Crookes), Natalie Roar (cast); director: Taz Tron Delix; prod co: Compulsory; record co: Sony Music)

Best Hair & Make-Up: Joy Crookes – Feet Don’t Fail Me Now (stylist: Mata Marielle (MUA), Issac Poleon (Hair); director: Taz Tron Delix; prod co: Compulsory; record co: Sony Music)

Best Choreography: Purple Disco Machine feat Moss Kena & The Knocks – Fireworks (choreographer: Adam Beta; director: Greg Barth; prod co: Common People Films & Rekorder; record co: Sony Music)

Best Cinematography: Califato 3⁄4 – Fandangô De Carmen Porter (dop: Michal Babinec; director: Nono Ayuso; prod co: Landia & Dude Originals; record co: Breaking Bass Records)

Best Colour Grading: Bastille – Distorted Light Beam (colourist: Alex Gregory; director: Jak Payne; prod co: Blink Productions; record co: Virgin Records)

Best Editing: Little Simz – Introvert (editor: Elise Butt at Trim Editing; director: Salomon Lighthelm; prod co: Prettybird UK; record co: AWAL / Animal 63)

Best Visual Effects: Bicep feat Clara La San – Saku (vfx artist: Alexis Baillia at Firm Studio; director: David Betram; prod co: Diplomats; record co: Ninja Tune)

Best Animation: L’Impératrice – Hématome (animators: Roxane Lumeret, Jocelyn Charles, Chloé Farr; director: Roxane Lumeret & Jocelyn Charles; prod co: Studio Remembers; record co: Microqlima)

Best Special Video Project: Topaz Jones – Don’t Go Tellin Your Momma (directors: rubberband, Topaz Jones; producer: Luigi Rossi; prod co: SMUGGLER; record co: New Funk Academy / Black Canopy)

Best Live Video: Pa Salieu – Frontline (live on Jimmy Fallon) (director: Tawbox; producer: Ghandi El-Chamaa; prod co: Film Band; record co: Atlantic Records)

Best Music Film: Dua Lipa – Studio 2054 (director: Liz Clare; producer: Peter Abbott; prod co: Ceremony London;record co: Warner Records)

People/Company awards

Best Commissioner: Kat Cattaneo
Best Agent: Sam Davey
Best Producer: Precious Mahaga
Best Production Company: Canada
Best Post Production Company: Electric Theatre Collective
Best Director: Tanu Muino
Best New Director: Aube Perrie
Outstanding Achievement Award: Juliette Larthe