Artist News Awards Business News

UK Music Video Awards presented at virtual ceremony

By | Published on Friday 6 November 2020

UK Music Video Awards

This year’s UK Music Video Awards took place last night, with a virtual ceremony that included – for the first time and hopefully only time – a category for Best Lockdown Video.

The big winner of the night was the video for DJ Shadow’s ‘Rocket Fuel’, directed by Sam Piling. It took the Best International Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Video and Video Of The Year prizes, while editor Ellie Johnson took Best Editing and colourist Thomas Mangham took Best Colour Grading.

The Weeknd took two prizes. The video for his track ‘Blinding Light’, directed by Anton Tammi, was named Best International Pop Video and Alex Lill’s live video for ‘Heartless’ – shot backstage at ‘The Late Show With Stephen Colbert’ – won Best Live Video. Anton Tamm also won Director Of The Year.

“A UKMVAs awards ceremony like no other – hosted by Becca Dudley from a studio in West London rather than the usual big event at The Roundhouse – was still a huge celebration of the creativity and craft of music videos of the past year”, says UKMVA editorial director David Knight. “Becca spoke to winners in London, Paris, LA and elsewhere – mostly in their homes, although Matt Walker was out for a drive with Skepta when he found out he’d won his award! Congrats to all the winners, and here’s to a proper party next year”.

I think they might have just inadvertently outing some lockdown rule-flouting there, but hey, speaking of which, what was the Best Lockdown Video? Well, take a look for yourself. I mean, here are all the winners:

UK awards
Best Pop Video: Dua Lipa – Break My Heart (Director: Henry Scholfield)
Best Dance/Electronic Video: Disclosure feat Aminé & Slowthai – My High (Director: Simon Cahn)
Best R&B/Soul Video: Berwyn – Trap Phone (Director: Brock Neal-Roberts)
Best Rock Video: Idles – War (Director: Will Dohrn)
Best Alternative Video: Låpsley – My Love Was Like The Rain (Director: Camille Summers-Valli)
Best Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Video: JME feat Merky Ace – Live (Director: Matthew Walker)

International awards
Best International Pop Video: The Weeknd – Blinding Lights (Director: Anton Tammi)
Best International Dance/Electronic Video: Salvatore Ganacci – Boycycle (Director: Vedran Rupic)
Best International R&B/Soul Video: Yseult – Corps (Director: Colin Solal Cardo)
Best International Rock Video: Joywave – Obsession (Directors: Dimitri Basil, Laura Gorun, Cooper Roussel)
Best International Alternative Video: Agoria – Call Of The Wild (Director: Loïc Andrieu)
Best International Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Video: DJ Shadow feat De La Soul – Rocket Fuel (Director: Sam Pilling)

Newcomer awards
Best Pop Video: Vagabon – In A Bind (Director: Maegan Houang)
Best Dance/Electronic Video: Mild Minds feat Boats – Walls (Director: Colin Read)
Best R&B/Soul Video: Greentea Peng – Mr Sun (Director: Felix Brady)
Best Rock Video: Willie J Healey – True Stereo (Director: Joe Wheatley)
Best Alternative Video: Zebra Katz – Moor (Directors: Žanete Skarule & Ojay Morgan)
Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video: Jurdan Bryant – Words For Thomas (Director: Alonzo Hellerbach)

Best Production Design: Tommy Cash – Sdubid (Production designer: Taivi Lippmaa)
Best Styling: Beyoncé, Shatta Wale, Major Lazer – Already (Stylist: Zerina Akers)
Best Choreography: Sheenah Ko – Wrap Me Up (Choreographer: Brittney Canda)
Best Cinematography: fka Twigs – Sad Day (DoP: Larkin Seiple)
Best Colour Grading: DJ Shadow feat De La Soul – Rocket Fuel (Colourist: Thomas Mangham)
Best Editing: DJ Shadow feat De La Soul – Rocket Fuel (Editor: Ellie Johnson)
Best Visual Effects: Flatbush Zombies – Afterlife (VFX artist: Machine Molle)
Best Animation: Ghetts feat Jaykae & Moonchild Sanelly – Mozambique (Animator: Ruff Mercy)
Best Live Video: The Weeknd – Heartless (Director: Alex Lill)
Best Lockdown Video: Bronson – Keep Moving (Director: StyleWar)
Best Special Video Project: Riz Ahmed – The Long Goodbye (Director: Aneil Karia)
Best Music Film: The Streets – None Of Us Are Getting Out Of This Live Alive (Director: James Barnes)

Best Director: Anton Tammi
Best New Director: Arnaud Bresson
Best Producer: Daniella Manca
Best Commissioner: Caroline Clayton
Best Agent: Claire Stubbs
Best Production Company: Somesuch
Best Post Production Company: The Mill

Video Of The Year: DJ Shadow feat De La Soul – Rocket Fuel (Director: Sam Pilling)