UK Music Video Awards presented

By | Published on Wednesday 9 November 2011

UK Music Video Awards

So, this year’s UK Music Video Awards were dished out last night at a ceremony at the Empire cinema in London’s Leicester Square. Hurrah!

It was all quite refreshing as these awards thingies go, in that the plaudits were shared out nice and evenly, and no one act (I’m looking at you, Adele) dominated overall. One of the evening’s main accolades, The Video Of The Year gong, went to Manchester Orchestra for their ‘Simple Math’ visual, while Swedish director Jonas Akerlund took home The Icon Award, despite the part he played in making Maroon 5’s ‘Moves Like Jagger’ video.

Here is the full list of winners:

UK Awards

Best Pop Video: Adele – Rolling In The Deep
Best Dance Video: Chase & Status feat Liam Bailey – Blind Faith
Best Urban Video: Wiley – Numbers in Action
Best Indie/Rock Video: Is Tropical – The Greeks
Best Alternative Video: Depeche Mode – Personal Jesus (Stargate Remix)

International Awards

Best Pop Video: Oh Land – White Nights
Best Dance Video: Duck Sauce – Barbra Streisand
Best Urban Video: Jay-Z & Kanye West – Otis
Best Indie/Rock Video: Manchester Orchestra – Simple Math
Best Alternative Video: Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

Budget Awards

Best Pop Video: Cool Fun – House
Best Dance Video: Eskmo – We Got More
Best Urban Video: Jargon VA feat Tinie Tempah – Disappoint You
Best Indie/Rock Video: Memory Tapes – Yes I Know
Best Alternative Video: Matta – Release The Freq

Other Awards

Best Animation In A Video: Is Tropical – The Greeks
Best Art Direction & Design In A Video: Scissor Sisters – Invisible Light
Best Choreography In A Video: Wave Machines – Keep The Light On
Best Cinematography In A Video: Adele – Rolling In the Deep
Best Editing In A Video: Tom Vek – Aroused
Best Styling In A Video: Chase & Status feat Liam Bailey – Blind Faith
Best Telecine In A Video: Plan B – Love Goes Down
Best Visual Effects in a Video: Klaxons – Twin Flames
The Innovation Award: The Shoes – Cover Your Eyes
The People’s Choice Award: JLS feat Tinie Tempah – Eyes Wide Shut
Best Live Music Coverage: Tinie Tempah – Ibiza Rocks
Best Music Ad – TV or Online: Mark Ronson & The Business International – Record Collection
The Outstanding Achievement Award: Barry Wasserman
Best Producer: Tim Francis
Best Commissioner: Ross Anderson
Best New Director: Us
Best Director: Canada
The Icon Award: Jonas Akerlund
Video Of The Year: Manchester Orchestra – Simple Math