Artist News Awards Media

Xfm New Music Award shortlist announced

By | Published on Tuesday 31 January 2012


The shortlist for Xfm’s annual New Music Award, which is presented to what is deemed the best debut album of the previous year, has been announced.

The shortlist is voted for by the station’s listeners, while the overall winner is selected by a panel, which this year includes Xfm presenters John Kennedy and Mary Anne Hobbs, producer John Leckie, Muse drummer Dom Howard, Peter Hook, and one Xfm listener.

Says John Kennedy: “A classic debut album is both the culmination of a lifetime of experience and the launch pad for a future life of musical creativity. It’s great that Xfm recognises this and seeks to give it the attention it deserves. 2011 was an amazing year for debuts, to choose one for the Award will be quite a task!”

The winner will be announced on 8 Feb at The Ritz in Manchester.

The shortlist is as follows:

Beady Eye – Different Gear, Still Speeding
James Blake – James Blake
Chapel Club – Palace
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds
Ben Howard – Every Kingdom
Miles Kane – Colour Of The Trap
Benjamin Francis Leftwich – Last Smoke Before The Snowstorm
Scroobius Pip – Distraction Pieces
Ed Sheeran – +
The Vaccines – What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?