CMU Daily - on the inside 21 Aug 2002
yesterday's Daily - Daily archive

Who said: “I started being really proud of the fact I was gay – even though I wasn’t" (clue: said person appears in today’s Daily, sort of).
Answer tomorrow


Ash have said they will let fans know tomorrow whether or not they will be able to play their Carling Weekend sets in Reading and Leeds this weekend. Drummer Rick McMurray is still recovering from the bus crash that involved the whole band as they toured the US with Moby’s Area:2 festival. The band’s manager Stephen Taverner has been telling the BBC more about the incident. “The bus was overtaking a truck on a motorway at 0730 local time on Friday when it hit a tyre in the middle of the road,” he says. "The band were thrown out of their bunks on to the floor. That's how Rick got what we suspect is cracked ribs." Despite initial worries, the other band members got away with just cuts and bruises.


The Manic Street Preachers are the latest band to play an intimate gig in their hometown as part of Carling’s excellent Homecoming programme. The band will play the 800 capacity St David's Hall on 18 Nov. Apparently the venue has a number of special meanings for the band - drummer Sean Moore was in a brass band there as a schoolboy, all the band members saw their first gigs there, and it was while busking outside the hall as teenagers that a passer-by told James Dean Bradfield and Nicky Wire they were "manic street preachers". Tickets for the gig cab be won from The gig will be filmed by Channel 4.


The long awaited Ramones tribute album ‘We're a Happy Family’ has finally been given a provisional US release date – it’s due to hit the shops on 5 Nov. Rob Zombie, who is co-producing the album with Johnny Ramone, has posted the release date and a track listing on his website, though there’s still no definite word from Columbia Records who intend to release the album. The project has been a long time coming, with a number of bands procrastinating over whether to take part, and others clambering to get involved after the death of Dee Dee Ramone earlier this year. The final line up includes some seminal names rock old and new, but also a track from a brand new band called Rooney – the band were invited to contribute a track by Johnny. Zombie has been working hard to make sure the final product is top quality – even down to crafting the packaging and CD booklet. The full track list, according to Zombie’s site, is:

* Red Hot Chili Peppers - Havana Affair
* Rob Zombie - Blitzkrieg Bop
* Eddie Vedder with Zeke - I Believe in Miracles
* Metallica - 53rd & 3rd
* U2 - Beat on the Brat
* Kiss - Do You Remember Rock and Roll Radio?
* Marilyn Manson - The KKK Took My Baby Away
* Garbage - I Just Want to Have Something to Do"
* Green Day - Outside
* Pretenders - Something to Believe In
* Rancid - Sheena Is a Punk Rocker
* Pete Yorn - I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend
* The Offspring - I Wanna Be Sedated
* Rooney - Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
* Tom Waits - Return of Jackie and Judy
* Eddie Vedder with Zeke - Daytime Dilemma (Dangers of Love)


Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic has told Billboard a rarities album of previously unreleased work by the band is likely to make it into the shops this year, adding that there was now some "good will" between him, ex-Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl and Courtney Love, despite the continuing litigation over the band's musical legacy. Saying that Universal had pencilled in November for such a release, he also hinted that the much-talked about unreleased Nirvana song ‘You Know You're Right’, recorded just before Cobain's death in 1994, could feature on the album. Courtney Love originally blocked the release of a proposed box-set of unreleased Nirvana music, launching into legal action against Novoselic and Grohl over who had the control with regards future Nirvana releases. The litigation over the band's assets is scheduled to continue in a Washington state courtroom later this month.


Days after they completed their world tour with a set at V2002, the Chemical Brothers are heading straight for the studio to begin work on a follow up to ‘Come With Us’. "We don't muck about," Ed Simons told reporters in the US. "Our studio is in Elephant and Castle in South London and we reconvene Monday to start again. I've got a month before I get married, and I'm gonna spend that month thinking about how we're going to move forward musically." The duo have also said they are considering using unknown vocalists for their new project. "I think it'd be great to find someone - to get someone strange out of Rough Trade Records and pursue it from there rather than work with these big iconic figures," Simons said. "I loved working with Richard Ashcroft, Noel Gallagher and Bernard Sumner, but it'd just be cool to do someone people have never heard of." But collaborations with the pop nobility aren’t likely to dry up completely, with both Blur and Jeff Beck hoping to use the Chemical’s production talents on forthcoming projects. "Blur want us to listen to some music they're making with the possibility of producing or co-producing with them," Simons confirmed.


Answer to Tuesday’s pop quiz:
Seeing as 3 is the magic number for New York ‘daisy-agers’ De La Soul, name the three members, name three albums (four if you’re a bit good) and three people(s) that have guested on De La Soul tracks.

De La Soul are Posdnous, Trugoy and MaseLPs: 3 Ft high and rising (89), De La Soul Is Dead (91), Buhloone Mindstate (93), Stakes Is High in (96). Art Official intelliegnce ?

Q Tip from Tribe called Quest, The Black Sheep and the Jungle Brothers have all guested on TCQ releases.

yesterday's Daily - Daily archive

© UnLimited Publishing | subscribe at