Artist News Awards Business News

AIM Awards presented

By | Published on Thursday 13 August 2020

AIM Awards 2020

The Association Of Independent Music’s cleverly re-worked Independent Music Awards took place online last night, with live performances from the likes of Little Simz, AJ Tracey, Vince Clark and Damon Albarn, plus plenty of prize giving.

Because, yes, while there were many innovations in play as a result of the awards ceremony having to take place in the virtual world, organisers still nevertheless remembered to hand out some prizes.

And those prizes, in case you wondered, were distributed as follows…

UK Independent Breakthrough: Moses Boyd International Breakthrough: Yaeji Best Live Act: Five Finger Death Punch Most Played New Independent Artist: Freya Ridings One To Watch: Arlo Parks

Best Independent Album: Sarathy Korwar – More Arriving Best [Difficult] Second Album: FKA Twigs – Magdalene Best Independent Track: Flying Lotus featuring Anderson .Paak – More Best Independent Video: The Howl & The Hum – The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island Best Independent Remix: Lafawndah – Tourist X Nídia Rework Best Creative Packaging: Digga D – Double Tap Diaries

Best Small Label: Speedy Wunderground Best Independent Label: Jazz Re:Refreshed

Innovator Award: AJ Tracey Pioneer Award: Little Simz Special Recognition Award: Vince Clarke Indie Champion: IMPALA’s Helen Smith Outstanding Contribution To Music: Tony Allen