Awards Business News

AIM Awards shortlists announced

By | Published on Thursday 27 September 2012

AIM Awards 2012

The nominations are out for this year’s Independent Music Awards, organised by the Association Of Independent Music, which will take place at The Brewery in London on 29 Oct.

We already knew that Edwyn Collins will take the Outstanding Contribution trophy at the second ever AIM awards event, while Mute’s Daniel Miller will take home the Pioneer Award. But now we also know the contenders for the other gongs.

AIM chief Alison Wenham told CMU: “We have doubled capacity for this years ‘Most Difficult Second AIM Awards (!)’ and the nominations are once again outstanding. These awards will recognise another great year for independents’ creativity and ingenuity, with Ninja Tune and Xtra Mile leading the nominations list. The companies and artists are all so special they should all get a medal, but a decent three course meal and an evening spent amongst friends is a prize in itself”.

The shortlists for this year’s AIM awards have been announced just head of the trade body’s first ever AIM Social networking event, which will take place at Shoreditch’s East Village tonight. And that, in turn, is part of Indies Month, a series of indie label themed events taking place in London in the run up to the awards.

Anyway, here are the noms…

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Alabama Shakes, Alt-J, Django Django, Grimes, Poli├ža.

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: 65daysofstatic, Cancer Bats, Enter Shikari, Frank Turner, Skinny Lister.

Best Live Act: The Cribs, Dub Pistols, Enter Shikari, The Prodigy, Frank Turner.

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act: Adele, Arctic Monkeys, Caro Emerald, Madness, Travis.

Independent Album Of The Year: Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls, Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour, Liars – Wixiw, Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense, Rustie – Glass Swords.

Best Difficult Second Album: Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow, First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar, Speech Debelle – Freedom Of Speech, The Invisible – Rispah, The Skints – Part & Parcel.

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Amon Tobin – Amon Tobin, Madness – A Guided Tour Of Madness, Can – The Lost Tapes, The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres, Various Artists – The Original Sound Of Cumbia.

Genre Spotlight Award: Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger – Folksploitation, Lorn – Ask The Dust, Neil Cowley Trio – The Face Of Mount Molehill, Netsky – 2, Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct.

Best Small Label: Alcopop! Records, Black Butter Records, Brainfeeder, Pink Mist, Xtra Mile Recordings.

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year: Alex Di Savoia – Aardvark Records, Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey – Hospital Records, Louis Barabbas – Debt Records, Sam Dyson – Distiller Records, Simon Raymonde – Bella Union.

Independent Label Of The Year: 4AD, Bella Union, Hospital Records, Hyperdub, Ninja Tune.

Indie Champion Award: Olli Dutton – Obscene Strategies, Ian Evans – IME Music, Steve Lamacq – BBC 6music, Katie Parsons – Kerrang!, Shell Zenner – Amazing Radio.

Best Independent Festival: In The Woods Festival, Truck Festival, Y Not Festival, Leefest, Bearded Theory.