Awards Business News

AIM Independent Music Awards dished out

By | Published on Tuesday 30 October 2012

AIM Awards 2012

The winners of the second annual Independent Music Awards, put together by the Association Of Independent Music, were announced last night at a ceremony in London. Held at The Brewery in Clerkenwell, the night was hosted by Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq, with live performances from Frankie And The Heartstrings, Big Deal and Land Observations.

Opening the evening, AIM CEO Alison Wenham took the opportunity to reiterate the trade body’s negative view of the recent sale of EMI to Universal, saying that even a senior person at UMG had described the merger at “horrible”. However, she also paid tribute to EMI, saying that the indie community was “horrified” this week to see new figures putting the soon-to-disappear major’s market share at 7%, adding that with it gone the independent companies filling the room “are now the British music industry”.

Following the ceremony, Wenham told CMU: “Our second awards has marked a stellar year for the independent sector – congratulations to all the nominees and winners! This list of winners is like no other, and truly reflects the breadth of talent and diversity in the independent sector. A fantastic night was had by all, and we look forward to celebrating further success for the independents in 2013”.

And the winners are…

Best Live Act: The Prodigy
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Alt-J
Hardest Working Band Or Artist: 65daysofstatic
PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act: Adele

Independent Album Of The: Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour
Best Difficult Second Album: First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres
Genre Spotlight Award: Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Label Of The Year: 4AD
Best Small Label: Black Butter Records
Best Independent Festival: LeeFest

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year: Simon Raymonde, Bella Union
Indie Champion Award: Ian Evans, IME Music
Outstanding Contribution To Music: Edwyn Collins
Pioneer Award: Daniel Miller, Mute