Awards Business News

AIM Independent Music Awards Outstanding Contribution and Pioneer Award recipients announced

By | Published on Thursday 2 August 2012

AIM Awards 2012

The Association Of Independent Music’s Independent Music Awards aren’t due to take place until the end of October, but everyone over there’s so excited about it that they’ve already announced two of the night’s winners – musician Edwyn Collins will take the Outstanding Contribution trophy, while Mute’s Daniel Miller has been named the winner of this year’s Pioneer Award.

Collins told CMU: “How gracious of AIM to consider me, I’m most flattered. 30 years of rock n roll independence! It’s where I started and I’m there yet. I think it’s the future, young people”.

Of his win, Miller said: “I am very flattered and honoured to receive this award. It’s particularly special to be acknowledged by fellow independents”.

Meanwhile, AIM boss Alison Wenham added: “I have such admiration for both Daniel and Edwyn and congratulate them on winning our most coveted awards. They are survivors, they never give up, they are ridiculously talented, and they set a standard for others to follow”.

The second Independent Music Awards will take place at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on 29 Oct. More information at