Artist News Releases

Angel Olsen to release early versions of All Mirrors songs

By | Published on Wednesday 29 July 2020

Angel Olsen

Angel Olsen will release a new album, ‘Whole New Mess’, next month, featuring recordings made at sessions that took place before and informed the making of last year’s ‘All Mirrors’ LP.

“I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that – I’d lost friendships, too”, she says. “When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment”.

Looking for a place to record where “vulnerability exists”, she and engineer Michael Harris settled on converted church studio The Unknown in Washington state. “I hadn’t been to The Unknown, but I knew about its energy. I wanted to go sit with the material and be with it in a way that felt like a residency. I didn’t need a lot, since it was just me and a guitar. But I wanted someone else there to hold me accountable for trying different things”.

Nine of the eleven songs on the upcoming album also made it onto ‘All Mirrors’ in a more grand form. ‘Whole New Mess’ is out on 28 Aug through Jagjaguwar. Watch the video for the title track here: