Border Breaker winners announced

By | Published on Monday 10 October 2011

Anna Calvi

The winners of the European Border Breaker Awards 2012 have been announced. As previously reported, these go to new or emerging European artists or groups for success in reaching audiences outside their own country with their first internationally-released album. The gongs will be handed out at next year’s Eurosonic convention in January in Gronigen, Netherlands.

And the winners are:

Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
Selah Sue (Belgium)
Agnes Obel (Denmark)
Ben l’Oncle Soul (France)
Boy (Germany)
James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
Afrojack (Netherlands)
Alexandra Stan (Romania)
Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
Anna Calvi (UK)

All ten will perform at next year’s awards, where the winner of a peoples choice vote will also be announced. Yes, a panel of judges may have picked this list of ten, but the public will be able to vote for their overall favourite from next month. More at