Border Breakers gongs dished out

By | Published on Thursday 12 January 2012

Border Breaker Awards

The European Border Breakers Awards were dished out at the Eurosonic Noorderslag conference in the Netherlands last night.

These go to new or emerging European artists or groups who have had success in reaching audiences outside their own country with their first internationally-released album. We knew which artists would be getting a Border Breaker prize already, though the public could also vote for their overall winner, and the Public Choice Award went to Belgian act Selah Sue.

As a reminder, here’s the full list of Border Breakers winners this year:

Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
Selah Sue (Belgium)
Agnes Obel (Denmark)
Ben l’Oncle Soul (France)
Boy (Germany)
James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
Afrojack (Netherlands)
Alexandra Stan (Romania)
Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
Anna Calvi (UK)

Anna Calvi said to CMU of her win: “I am really honoured to have won this award. My father is Italian, my mother grew up in Switzerland. I don’t just feel English, I feel very European and it’s been really important for me that the record has done well in Europe as a whole”.

And for you Irish readers out there, we even got a quote from your border breaking man James Vincent McMorrow who performed two songs at the Border Breakers Awards event: “This is fantastic. I was here at Eurosonic last year and it was here where it all began. From then on it led to incredible things and this award means a lot to me”.