European Border Breakers announced

By | Published on Wednesday 1 December 2010

The winners of the panel-judged 2011 European Border Breakers’ Awards have been announced. The awards are presented to new or emerging European artists or groups for success in reaching audiences outside their own country with their first internationally-released album. A ceremony, hosted by Jools Holland, will take place at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Holland on 12 Jan.

Taking the crowns this year are:

Saint Lu (Austria) 
Stromae (Belgium)
Aura Dione (Denmark)
ZAZ (France)
The Baseballs (Germany) 
Caro Emerald (Netherlands) 
Donkeyboy (Norway) 
Inna (Romania)
Miike Snow (Sweden)
Mumford & Sons (UK)

It’s still all to play for in the Public Choice category though. Vote for your favourite new European border-breaking artist at: