Artist News Awards

Jape win Choice Music Prize

By | Published on Thursday 5 March 2009

Electronic rock band Jape have won the Choice Music Prize for Irish Album Of The Year for their latest LP ‘Ritual’. The Choice Prize, if you weren’t aware of it, is like the Mercury Prize, but Irish. The winning album was selected by twelve judges from the following shortlist:

Fight Like Apes – Fight Like Apes and the Mystery of the Golden Medallion
(Model Citizen)
Mick Flannery – White Lies (EMI)
Halfset – Another Way of Being There (Casino Gravity Records)
Lisa Hannigan – Sea Sew (Own label)
David Holmes – The Holy Pictures (Canderblinks)
Jape – Ritual (Co-Op)
Messiah J & The Expert – From The Word Go (Inaudible)
Oppenheimer – Take The Whole Mid-Range And Boost It (Fantastic Plastic)
R.S.A.G. – Organic Sampler (Psychonavigation)
The Script – The Script (Sony Music)