Artist News Business News Gigs & Festivals Releases

Moshi Moshi announces 20th anniversary compilation

By | Published on Thursday 4 April 2019

Moshi Moshi

Moshi Moshi Records is 20 years old this year. Actually, the birthday was late last year, I think. Shut up. It’s 20 years old right now. And to mark the occasion, the company is putting out a compilation titled ’20 Years Of Moshi Moshi’.

Launched in 1998 as a means to work with artists not allowed through the doors of the major labels its founders were then employed by, the company has gone on to be an influential force in the British music industry. During its first two decades, the company has released early material by the likes of Florence And The Machine, Disclosure, Bloc Party, Hot Chip, Friendly Fires, and more.

“When your whole working life is orientated towards what is coming next, looking back is not something that comes naturally”, say co-founders Stephen Bass and Michael McClatchey. “We spent a long time wrestling with this when we realised it was our 20th anniversary and the more we discussed it the more plans got scaled back”.

“The one thing we could agree on”, they go on, “was this LP compilation of some of our proudest moments, and putting all these great songs together for the first time, was actually a very satisfying and poignant exercise. I would guess a bit like reading your own obituary or listening to the soundtrack to your straight-to-Netflix biopic. After all these years and all the changes in the music industry holding a new record with your logo on is still the best thing about it”.

The compilation is set for release on 3 Jun. Before that, Moshi Moshi and promoter Art’s Cool will be putting on the second edition on Margate mini-festival Caring Is Creepy on 3-5 May. Artists performing this year include Bo Ningen, Audiobooks, Flamingods and Du Blonde.

Also, here is a playlist I just remembered that Stephen Bass put together for us about a decade ago. I thought it was for the label’s tenth anniversary, but it turns out I was wrong. It’s good though, and listening to it will pass the time while you wait for this new compilation, the tracklist for which I’m going to put here…

1. Sukpatch – Hey Jolie
2. Girl Ray – Trouble
3. Invisible Minds – Yo Mae Leh
4. Disclosure – Offline Dexterity
5. Charles Watson – No Fanfare
6. The Wave Pictures – The Woods
7. Anna Meredith – Taken
8. Slow Club – In Waves
9. Meilyr Jones – How To Recognise A Work Of Art
10. Hot Chip – Baby Said
11. The Very Best – Warm Heart Of Africa
12. Au Revoir Simone – Crazy
13. Kindness – Swingin Party
14. Teleman – Fall In Time
15. Lykke Li – Little Bit
16. Friendly Fires – Paris
17. Wesley Gonzalez – I Am A Telescope
18. Matt & Kim – Silver Tiles
19. Florence And The Machine – Kiss With A Fist
20. Kiran Leonard – Paralysed Force
21. The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing
22. Pillow Person – Go Ahead
23. The Mae Shi – Lamb And Lion
24. Silver Columns – Brow Beaten
25. Fimber Bravo – The Way We Live Today
26. Hercules & Love Affair – I Try To Talk To You
27. Tilly And The Wall – Nights Of The Living Dead
28. Late Of The Pier – Bathroom Gurgle
29. Hot Club De Paris – Sometimes It’s Better Not To Stick Bits Of Each Other In Each Other
30. Casiokids – Fot I Hose
31. Best Fwends – Skate Or Live